Fall Fiction Preview 2019!

Savvy Readers, I have some important news. I don’t mean to alarm you, but your TBR piles are about to get a WHOLE lot bigger. Everyone knows that Fall is the biggest season in publishing, and we are SO excited to share the books that we’re most looking forward to this fall! That’s right, our annual Fall Fiction Preview, complete with a 15 book giveaway, is here!

tenor.gif

Before we get into the giveaway portion of the preview, here are just some of the books we’re so excited to dive into this Fall!

y648.jpg

The Other Windsor Girl by Georgie Blalock

If you love The Crown, then this is the book for you!Diana, Catherine, Meghan…glamorous Princess Margaret outdid them all. Springing into post-World War II society, and quite naughty and haughty, she lived in a whirlwind of fame and notoriety. Georgie Blalock captures the fascinating, fast-living princess and her “set” as seen through the eyes of one of her ladies-in-waiting.

y648 (1).jpg

The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott

In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I. Artful and incredibly moving, The Poppy Wife tells the unforgettable story of the soldiers lost amid the chaos and ruins, and those who were desperate to find them.

y648 (2).jpg

The Butterfly Girl by Rene Denfeld

After captivating readers in The Child Finder, Naomi—the investigator with an uncanny ability for finding missing children—returns, trading snow-covered woods for dark, gritty streets on the search for her missing sister in a city where young, homeless girls have been going missing and turning up dead. The Butterfly Girl is a riveting novel that ripples with truth, exploring the depths of love and sacrifice in the face of a past that cannot be left dead and buried.

y648 (3).jpg

The Nanny by Gilly Macmillan

The New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew conjures a dark and unpredictable tale of family secrets that explores the lengths people will go to hurt one another. In this compulsively readable tale of secrets, lies, and deception, Gilly Macmillan explores the darkest impulses and desires of the human heart. Diabolically clever, The Nanny reminds us that sometimes the truth hurts so much you’d rather hear the lie.

y648 (4).jpg

Cold Storage by David Koepp

When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy.  Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother.  Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again.  All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor.  Will that be enough to save all of humanity? Fun fact: This is the debut novel by the screenwriter of Mission: Impossible and my favourite movie of all-time, Jurassic Park!

y648 (5).jpg

Crow Winter by Karen McBride

Since coming home to Spirit Bear Point First Nation, Hazel Ellis has been dreaming of an old crow. He tells her he’s here to help her, save her. From what, exactly? Sure, her dad’s been dead for almost two years and she hasn’t quite reconciled that grief, but is that worth the time of an Algonquin demigod? Soon Hazel learns that there’s more at play than just her own sadness and doubt. The quarry that’s been lying unsullied for over a century on her father’s property is stirring the old magic that crosses the boundaries between this world and the next. With the aid of Nanabush, Hazel must unravel a web of deceit that, if left untouched, could destroy her family and her home on both sides of the Medicine Wheel.

9781488054358

The Wives by Tarryn Fisher

Thursday’s husband, Seth, has two other wives—but she doesn’t live in a harmonious, domestic, sister-wife situation: she has no idea who Seth’s other wives are; she’s never met them. She only sees her husband one day a week. What follows is a thriller unlike anything you’ve read before, set at a breakneck pace.

y648 (6).jpg

The Chestnut Man by Sören Sveistrup

A psychopath is terrorizing Copenhagen. His calling card is a “chestnut man”—a handmade doll made of matchsticks and two chestnuts—which he leaves at each bloody crime scene. Examining the dolls, forensics makes a shocking discovery—a fingerprint belonging to a young girl, a government minister’s daughter who had been kidnapped and murdered a year ago. A tragic coincidence—or something more twisted? To save innocent lives, a pair of detectives must put aside their differences to piece together the Chestnut Man’s gruesome clues. Because it’s clear that the madman is on a mission that is far from over. And no one is safe.

y648 (7).jpg

Take It Back by Kia Abdullah

Zara Kaleel, one of London’s brightest young legal minds, shattered the expectations placed on her by her family and forged a glittering career at the Bar. All before hanging up her barrister’s wig to help the victims who needed her most. Victims like Jodie Wolfe. Jodie’s own best friend doesn’t even believe her claims that their classmates carried out such a crime. But Zara does. And Zara is determined to fight for her. Jodie and Zara become the centre of the most explosive criminal trial of the year, in which ugly divisions within British society are exposed. As everything around Zara begins to unravel she becomes even more determined to get Jodie the justice she’s looking for. But at what price?

y648 (8).jpg

House of Brides by Jane Cockram

Jane Cockram makes her thrilling debut with this page-turning tale of psychological suspense in which a young woman whose life is in tatters flees to the safety of a family estate in England, but instead of comfort finds chilling secrets and lies.

y648 (9).jpg

The Last Train to London by Meg Waite Clayton

The New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Exiles conjures her best novel yet, a pre-World War II-era story with the emotional resonance of Orphan Train and All the Light We Cannot See, centering on the Kindertransports that carried thousands of children out of Nazi-occupied Europe—and one brave woman who helped them escape to safety.

y648 (10).jpg

The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Ann Patchett, the New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth and State of Wonder, returns with her most powerful novel to date: a richly moving story that explores the indelible bond between two siblings, the house of their childhood, and a past that will not let them go. The Dutch House is the story of a paradise lost, a tour de force that digs deeply into questions of inheritance, love and forgiveness, of how we want to see ourselves and of who we really are. Filled with suspense, you may read it quickly to find out what happens, but what happens to Danny and Maeve will stay with you for a very long time.

y648 (11).jpg

Akin by Emma Donoghue

In her first contemporary novel since Room, bestselling author Emma Donoghue returns with her next masterpiece, a brilliant tale of love, loss and family. A retired New York professor’s life is thrown into chaos when he takes his great-nephew to the French Riviera, in hopes of uncovering his own mother’s wartime secrets. Written with all the tenderness and psychological intensity that made Room a huge bestseller, Akin is a funny, heart-wrenching tale of an old man and a boy who unpick their painful story and start to write a new one together.

y648 (12).jpg

After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

An inventive and riveting epic saga, After the Flood signals the arrival of an extraordinary new talent. A compulsively readable novel of dark despair and soaring hope, After the Flood is a magnificent, action packed, and sometimes frightening odyssey laced with wonder—an affecting and wholly original saga both redemptive and astonishing.

y648 (13)

The Shape of Family by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

From the international bestselling author of Secret Daughter and The Golden Son comes a poignant, unforgettable novel about a family’s growing apart and coming back together in the wake of tragedy. The Shape of Family is an intimate portrayal of four individuals as they grapple with what it means to be a family and how to move from a painful past into a hopeful future. It is a profoundly moving exploration of the ways we all seek belonging — in our families, our communities and ultimately, within ourselves.

There you have it, Savvy Readers – 15 of the books that we are so excited to read this Fall! Now, for the moment you’ve all been waiting for… CLICK HERE to enter to win advance reading copies (yes, that means you get to read them before anyone else does!) of ALL 15 of these Fall releases! You must be signed up for the 50 Book Pledge to enter to win. Contest ends on August 30th at 11:59pm.

DSC_0697

So, what do you think, Savvy Readers? Which book are you most excited for? Can you even choose? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading, and may the odds be ever in your favour,

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @JesseDorey15!

57 thoughts on “Fall Fiction Preview 2019!

  1. I would like to read pretty much all these books, but there are a couple that look especially interesting. The Poppy Wife and the Last Train to London.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.