Our Most Anticipated September Reads

Savvy Readers, can you believe the end of summer is so close?! I can’t, but I have to say that I’m kind of super excited because fall is my favourite season AND there are so many (like SO MANY) incredible books coming out this September.

I consider myself very lucky to have already read some of the titles you’ll see below, so you can trust me when I say (ahem, shout): YOU ARE GOING TO LOVE THESE NEW BOOKS! Scroll down to see what books are hitting the shelves in bookstores near you this September, and tell us what ones you’re most excited about in the comments!

On sale September 3rd

9781443458948_d3f5c

Akin by Emma Donoghue

In her first contemporary novel since Room, bestselling author Emma Donoghue returns with her next masterpiece. Akin is a brilliant tale of love, loss and family. A retired New York professor’s life is thrown into chaos when he takes his great-nephew to the French Riviera, in hopes of uncovering his own mother’s wartime secrets.

9781443458542_f1ba3.jpg

Five Wives by Joan Thomas

In the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible and State of Wonder, and based on shocking real-life events, Five Wives is a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women left behind when their missionary husbands are killed.

9780778308997_a2489.jpg

A Girl Named Anna by Lizzy Barber

A compulsive suspense debut for fans of Megan Miranda and Kimberly Belle! A Girl Named Anna is about two teens—one sheltered by her strict and reclusive mother, and one living in the shadow of the missing sister who was snatched from a theme park as a toddler—and their search for the truth about their families and each other.

9780008348038_73b69.jpg

The Missing Wife by Sam Carrington

A gripping new thriller from the USA Today bestselling author of Saving Sophie! One simple Facebook invitation unfolds into something both tragic and monstrous… The Missing Wife is a story of obsessive love, breathtaking deception, and masterful manipulation.

y648.jpg

After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

An inventive and riveting epic saga, After The Flood is a compulsively readable novel of dark despair and soaring hope. It’s a magnificent, action-packed (and sometimes frightening!) odyssey laced with wonder set a little more than a century from now, in a world that has been utterly transformed from what we know.

Cold Storage by David Koepp

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park! This wild and terrifying adventure is about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious—and deadly—organism.

y648-1.jpg

The Chestnut Man by Soren Sveistrup

If you find one… he’s already found you. The Chestnut Man is the heart-pounding debut from the creator of the hit Scandinavian television show The Killing.

y648-2.jpg

Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron

Magic has a price… if you’re willing to pay. If you’re looking for a new YA fantasy, September is the month for you!! Kingdom of Souls is one of several new fantasy novels hitting the shelves this month, and it’s perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Strange the Dreamer!

y648-3.jpg

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Bound as one to love, honor, or burn. Serpent & Dove is book one of a stunning fantasy duology. A tale of witchcraft and forbidden love, perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sarah Holland (and basically any and every fantasy reader out there)!

The Scarecrow by Beth Ferry and illustrated by The Fan Brothers

Bestselling author Beth Ferry and the widely acclaimed Fan Brothers present a gorgeous and poignant picture book about two unexpected friends and the special connection they share.

Boxitects by Kim Smith

Nothing’s better than building with boxes! Meg is a brilliant and creative boxitect. She loves building extraordinary things out of ordinary cardboard boxes and impressing her classmates with what she creates. But then a new kid comes to Maker School…

y648.jpg

Worry by Jessica Westhead

A riveting novel about a mother’s all-consuming worry for her child over forty-eight hours at a remote cottage with old friends and a mysterious neighbour, for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and Truly Madly Guilty

On sale September 10

The Last Train to London by Meg Waite Clayton

New York Times bestselling author Meg Waite Clayton conjures her best novel yet, a pre-World War II-era story with the emotional resonance of Orphan Train and All the Light We Cannot See, centering on the Kindertransports that carried thousands of children out of Nazi-occupied Europe—and one brave woman who helped them escape to safety.

The Nanny by Gilly Macmillan

The New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew is back with a dark and unpredictable tale of family secrets that explores the lengths people will go to hurt one another. Get ready for a tale of secrets, lies and deception in the darkest book from Gilly Macmillan yet!

Break in Case of Emergency by Brian Francis

Life has been a struggle for Toby Goodman. Now a teenager living on her grandparents’ dairy farm due her mother’s death by suicide five years ago and her father’s longtime absence, Toby has trouble letting people in. Convinced she is destined to follow her mother’s path, Toby creates a plan to escape her pain. But with the news that her father is coming home and finally wants to meet her, Toby must face the truth of her family’s story.

Builder Brothers: Better Together by Jonathan and Drew Scott and illustrated by Kim Smith

Drew and Jonathan Scott, New York Times bestselling authors and hosts of the Emmy-nominated hit HGTV show Property Brothers, prove that everything is better when you work together, in their second picture book full of imagination, humor, and elbow grease.

On sale September 17

Crow Winter by Karen McBride

Since coming home to Spirit Bear Point First Nation, Hazel Ellis has been dreaming of an old crow. He tells her he’s here to help her, save her. Soon Hazel learns that there’s more at play than just her own sadness and doubt. With the aid of Nanabush, Hazel must unravel a web of deceit that, if left untouched, could destroy her family and her home on both sides of the Medicine Wheel.

The North-West is Our Mother by Jean Teillet

There is a missing chapter in the narrative of Canada’s Indigenous peoples—the story of the Métis Nation, a new Indigenous people descended from both First Nations and Europeans.

Head Kid by David Baddiel

From the million-copy bestselling author of The Parent Agency and Birthday Boy comes a wildly entertaining wish-fulfillment adventure that asks the question: what would happen if the strictest head teacher swapped bodies with the naughtiest kid in school?

On sale September 24

Over the Top by Jonathan Van Ness

Who gave Jonathan Van Ness permission to be the radiant human he is today? No one, honey. The truth is, it hasn’t always been gorgeous for this beacon of positivity and joy. Over the Top uncovers the pain and passion it took to end up becoming the model of self-love and acceptance that Jonathan is today.

Murdered Midas by Charlotte Gray

A gold mine. A millionaire. An island paradise. An unsolved murdered. A missing fortune. The story of the infamous Sir Harry Oakes as only Charlotte Gray can tell it.

9781335147271_bdb28.jpg

A Wedding in December by Sarah Morgan

We’re getting ready for Christmas over here with a new winter-y novel from Sarah Morgan at her festive best! This, funny, charming, and heartwarming novel is set in the snowy perfection of Aspen and follows the White family as they gather for youngest daughter Rosie’s whirlwind Christmas wedding.

Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

Coming soon: the sequel to Cecelia Ahern’s bestseller PS, I Love You! It’s been seven years since Holly Kennedy’s husband died—six since she read his final letter, urging Holly to find the courage to forge a new life. When a group inspired by Gerry’s letters approaches Holly asking for help, she finds herself drawn back into a world that she worked so hard to leave behind.

What Happens Now by Sophia Money-Coutts

After eight years together, Lil Bailey thought she’d already found ‘the one’—that is, until her dumped her for a blonde twenty-something colleague. So she does what any self-respecting singleton would do: swipes right, puts on her best bra, and finds herself on a first date with a handsome mountaineer called Max. What’s the worst that can happen?

Inside Out: A Memoir by Demi Moore

Famed American actress Demi Moore at last tells her own story in a surprisingly intimate and emotionally charged memoir.

The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Ann Patchett, the New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth and State of Wonder, returns with her most powerful novel to date: a richly moving story that explores the indelible bond between two siblings, the house of their childhood, and a past that will not let them go.

77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin: Poems by Thomas King

Timely, important, mischievous, and powerful. In a word: exceptional. A reflection on mortality and longing, and a long-running conversation with the mythological currents that flow throughout North America from Thomas King.

So, Savvy Readers… Do you have a #1 on your September reading list now? We can’t wait to hear what book(s) you’re most excited about! Leave a comment below or tell us on Twitter @SavvyReader (we promise to gush with you!).

Happy reading!

Ashley

Follow me on Twitter @ashleyposluns.

2 thoughts on “Our Most Anticipated September Reads

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.