Bookmarks: August 2

Happy Long Weekend, Savvy Readers! I don’t know about you, but I’ll be spending this Long Weekend outside with a great book and some refreshing adult beverages. How about you? If you’ve been wildly busy this week, here’s everything you missed!

1. There’s a giant Friends anniversary party happening in Toronto!

giphy (3).gif

Can you believe it’s been 25 years since Friends first premiered? To celebrate one of the best sitcoms ever made, Toronto is throwing a GIGANTIC party! Held at the Hot Docs Ted Rogers Cinema on August 7 and hosted by Refinery29 journalist Kathleen Newman-Bremang and journalist/Friends-expert Kelsey Miller, who wrote the definitive book on Friends called I’ll Be There For You, this is an event you will not want to miss. Find out more about this Friends extravaganza here!

2. CBC Books has picked the 13 Canadian memoirs that you *have* to read this summer!

giphy (4).gif

And we couldn’t agree more with it! Among the selections are some of our absolute favourite memories we’ve read this year, including Samra Zafar‘s A Good Wife and Ayelet Tsabari‘s The Art of LeavingWhat’s the best memoir you’ve ever read, Savvy Readers? See the full list here.

3. Start reading Brenda Janowitz’s The Grace Kelly Dress now!

tenor.gif

If you loved Jennifer Robson‘s The Gown as much as we did (and we know you did!), then here’s another book that you do NOT want to miss! Telling the story of three very different women from three very different generations, all of their lives are intricately connected by the importance of Grace Kelly’s wedding dress. Interested? You can read an excerpt now!

4. Start reading Linden MacIntyre’s The Wake now! 

giphy (5).gif

Bestselling and Giller Prize winning author Linden MacIntyre is back, this time with a haunting, personal tale of the tsunami that struck 1929 Newfoundland and the daunting legacy it has left in its wake. Writing in the vein of Erik Larson and David Grann, this is *the* Canadian history book of 2019 that you do NOT want to miss. Intrigued? You can read an excerpt from this truly astonishing book now!

What books are you reading this Long Weekend, Savvy Readers? Whether you’re heading up to the cottage, staying home, or unfortunately stuck at work, we hope you have a great reading!

Happy reading,

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader and @JesseDorey15

One thought on “Bookmarks: August 2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.