Most Anticipated May Releases

It’s almost May, Savvy Readers! We’re well into spring now, though it’s not always feeling like it right now… But I can’t complain, because the cool rainy weather makes for some perfect reading days! Do you agree? What is your most favourite season to read in? If your answer is EVERY season, then read on for some books coming out next month—all available for pre-order now!

On Sale May 7, 2019

y648.jpg

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson

Inspired by the true and historical blue-skinned people of Kentucky (for real, look it up!), this is a story of hope, heartbreak, courage, and strength. It follows Bluet, one of the last of the Kentucky Blues, who joins the historical Pack Horse Library Project and becomes a librarian, riding up the mountains on a mule to deliver books to the poor communities of Eastern Kentucky.

sub-buzz-27323-1552519423-1.jpg

Humans: A Brief History of How We F*cked It All Up by Tom Phillips

Modern humans have come a long way, but it hasn’t always been smooth sailing, and occasionally… we’ve managed to truly f*ck things up. Weaving together history, science, politics, and pop culture, Humans offers an exploration of humankind in all its glory (or, ahem, lack thereof).

y648.jpg

Just Jaime by Terri Libenson

If you haven’t read anything by Terri Libenson yet, you’re missing out. She writes perfect, relatable middle-grade novels with the most amazing illustrations! Just Jaime is another spot-on story of middle school drama and friendship!

y648 (1).jpg

Broken Throne by Victoria Aveyard

Just once more, we can’t wait to be able to return to the deadly and dazzling world of Red Queen, a beautifully designed must-have companion to the chart-topping series. This features THREE brand new novellas, two previously published novellas (Steel Scars and Queen Song) and never-before-seen maps, flags, bonus scenes, journal entries and much more!! Needless to say, we’re SO EXCITED.

4.jpg

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

This spine-tingling, bone-chilling novel of supernatural suspense is about to be an AMC original series starring Zachary Quinto, Ebon Moss-Bachrach and Ashleigh Cummings. From the author of The Fireman and Horns, you know you’ll want to read this one first!

x510.jpg

Nocturna by Maya Motayne

Nocturna is the first in a new own voices debut fantasy trilogy set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world. Fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V.E. Schwab will love this new YA fantasy about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed.

x510 (1).jpg

With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

From the New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award winner comes a dazzling novel in prose about a girl with talent, pride, and a drive to feed the soul that keeps her fire burning bright.

y450-274.jpg

Stop Doing that Sh*t by Gary John Bishop

From the author of Unf*ck Yourself comes a real-world approach to powerfully translate our most negative thoughts and behaviours and break free to live the life you always knew you wanted but could never quite seem to have. As Bishop says, “The future has arrived. Now what the hell are you going to do about it?”

y648 (4).jpg

The Killer Across the Table by John E. Douglas and Mark Olshaker

The legendary FBI criminal profiler, number-one New York Times bestselling author, and inspiration for the hit Netflix show Mindhunter delves deep into the lives and crimes of four of the most disturbing and complex predatory killers, offering never-before-revealed details about his profiling process and divulging strategies used to crack some of America’s most challenging cases.

y648 (5).jpg

The Last Time I Saw You by Liv Constantine

In a world of wealth and privilege, a killer is hiding… The internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish follows that success with an addictive novel filled with shocking twists about the aftermath of a brutal high-society murder.

y648 (6).jpg

The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna by Juliet Grames

For Stella Fortuna, death has always been a part of life. Stella’s childhood is full of strange, life-threatening incidents. Even Stella’s mother is convinced that her daughter is cursed or haunted. Soon, Stella learns that her survival is worthless without her independence, which her family will deny her at any cost. This richly told debut is a tale of ancient and twisted family transgressions.

On Sale May 14, 2019

y648 (2).jpg

Resistance Women by Jennifer Chiaverini

From New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini comes an enthralling historical saga that recreates the danger, romance, and sacrifice of an era and brings to life one courageous, passionate American—Mildred Fish Harnack—and her circle of female friends who waged a battle against Hitler in Nazi Berlin.

y648 (7).jpg

Odd Gods by David Slavin and Danie Weitzman

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets Percy Jackson in Odd Gods, the first book in a hilarious illustrated series about the most unlikely, unusual Gods to ever grace the halls of Mount Olympus Middle School.

161453.jpg

Everything is F*cked by Mark Manson

From the author of the international mega-bestselling The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck comes a counter-intuitive guide to the problems of hope. What more do you need to know?!

y648 (8).jpg

The Song of the Jade Lily by Kirsty Manning

A gripping historical novel that tells the little-known story of Jewish refugees who fled Shanghai during WWII. A lush, provocative and beautiful story of friendship, motherhood, the price of love, and the power of hardship and courage that can shape us all.

On Sale May 21, 2019

y648 (9).jpg

The Confessions of Frannie Langton by Sara Collins

This breathing debut murder mystery from Sara Collins travels across the Atlantic and through the darkest channels of history. All of London is abuzz with the scandalous case of Frannie Langton, accused of the brutal double murder of her employers. The testimonies against her are damning: she is a seductress, a witch, a master manipulator, a whore. But Frannie claims she cannot recall what happened that fateful evening. A brilliant, searing depiction of race, class, and oppression; the story of a woman of her own making in a world that would see her unmade.

favorite-daughter.jpg

The Favourite Daughter by Kaira Rouda

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie. From the author of Best Day Ever comes another novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

y648 (10).jpg

Let Me Hear a Rhyme by Tiffany D. Jackson

In this striking new novel by the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly and Monday’s Not Coming, Tiffany D. Jackson tells the story of three Brooklyn teens who plot to turn their murdered friend into a major rap star by pretending he’s still alive.

On Sale May 28, 2019

y648 (11).jpg

The Sentence is Death by Anthony Horowitz 

The writer “Anthony Horowitz” and eccentric detective Daniel Hawthorne team up again in a new mystery as they delve deeper into Hawthorne’s past.

y404.jpg

Her Secret Son by Hannah Mary McKinnon

How far would you go to protect the ones you love… when they may not be yours to protect? When Josh’s partner, Grace, dies in a tragic accident, he is left with a mess of grief—and full custody of her seven-year-old son, Logan. But when Josh begins the process of becoming his legal guardian, he finds that there are many dark secrets to uncover, and the truth about where Logan came from is more sinister than he could have imagined…

Image result for one more lie amy lloyd

One More Lie by Amy Lloyd

Karen Hamilton (author of The Perfect Girlfriend) says this one had her hooked from the very first page, so WE’RE IN. From the internationally bestselling and award-winning author of The Innocent Wife comes a chilling portrait of a woman trying to be good, even when she isn’t sure she wants to be.

The Woman in the White Kimono

The Woman in the White Kimono by Ana Johns

Oceans and decades apart, two women are inextricably bound by the secrets between them. Inspired by true stories from a devastating and little-known era in Japanese and American history, The Woman in the White Kimono illustrates a portrait of one woman torn between her culture and her heart, and another woman on a journey to discover the true meaning of home.

y648 (12).jpg

Anthony Bourdain Remembered

A moving and insightful collection of quotes, memories, and images, celebrating the life of Anthony Bourdain, who passed in June 2018.

 

WOW! What a great collection of books releasing this May. That’s a LOT of books, Savvy Readers! Tell us what one(s) you’re most looking forward to in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading!

Ashley

Follow me on Twitter @ashleyposluns

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.