13 Books to Cozy Up With This Fall

I don’t want to sound too excited, but as I type this, it’s cloudy and foggy and rainy and there’s a chill in the air. You know what that means, don’t you?

drum.gif

Autumn is officially here! It’s finally time for baggy sweaters, warm blankets, hot tea, and great books, and I cannot be ANY happier! To help you get into the swing of things this fall, here are 13 books that are perfect to cozy up with!

The Next Person You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

Okay, yes, technically I’m cheating with this one since it’s not released until October 9th, but October is still fall, and it’s coming mighty fast! Fifteen years ago – yes, fifteen – Mitch Albom introduced us to The Five People You Meet In Heaven. Now he’s back with the story of Annie, the little girl that was saved by Eddie in the original story. This time around, we meet an adult Annie, who will undergo her own heavenly journey and maybe even reconnect with Eddie somewhere along the way.

willig murder.jpg

A Willing Murder by Jude Deveraux

You may know Jude Deveraux as a New York Times bestselling romance author, but she is about to show the world that she’s a jack-of-all-trades when it comes to the writing game! In her mystery debut, Deveraux tells the story of Sara Medlar – a bestselling romance author – her niece, Kate, and the charming Jack, a mysterious young man who randomly lives with Sara and seems to have her wrapped around his finger. When a couple skeletons turn up (literally), the three of them must solve the mystery that everyone else in the town seems to want to keep under wraps…

mermaid.jpg

The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar

Aside from creepy thrillers and spooky reads, I’ve always associated fall with historical fiction, and I don’t actually know why… So, in keeping with that trend, here is a historical fiction novel unlike anything you’ve ever read! One September evening in 1785, Jonah Hancock receives some news that he never thought he’d hear: his ship has been sold. Not for gold or some form of treasure that you would expect to receive in a trade for a ship… but for a mermaid. Well, a dead mermaid. As news spreads, Jonah’s world is turned upside down, and  soon enough he forms a dangerous relationship with Angelica Neal, a courtesan of great accomplishment. What follows is an unforgettable debut novel that explores obsession, wonder, and the deepest desires of the human heart with wit, intrigue, and a little hint of magic.

perfect silence.jpg

Perfect Silence by Helen Fields

The last week of September means that October is almost here, and October almost being here means that, most importantly, Halloween is almost here, which means that it is time for us to get spooky! Image result for spoopy

Things are pretty bad when the body of a young girl is found dumped on the roadside on the outskirts of Edinburgh. Can’t get much worse, can it? Well, how about if the victim was found with the silhouette of a doll carved into her skin? Certainly that’s as bad as it’s gonna right, right? WRONG! How about finding a doll MADE OF SKIN found nestled beside an abandoned baby?

uh oh

This book is seriously twisted, and you’re going to love it!

strange weather.jpg

Strange Weather by Joe Hill

There’s is no better time of year than mid-October. Why? Halloween, Halloween, Halloween! Pumpkins are carved, spooky decorations are up, Halloween marathons are everywhere on TV…

Image result for halloween sidewalk gif

Why not add a book to the mix for good measure? Strange Weather is a collection of four short novels that range from the weird to the downright terrifying. A polaroid camera that erases peoples’ memories one shot at a time, a parachuter stuck on an impossibly solid cloud, a rainstorm of nails, and a “hero” caught in the path of an out-of-control wildfire are just some of the elements that make Strange Weather such a chilling read. Joe Hill – son of famed horror legend Stephen King – is a master of horror himself, and this collection is certain to give you the spooks this Halloween season!

nachine.jpg

Machine Without Horses by Helen Humphreys

In Helen Humphreys latest, a seasoned author stumbles across a curious obituary that sparks her imagination and causes her to explore both the real-life and the imagined inner life of a craftswoman from Scotland. Blurring the lines between fiction and reality, creative nonfiction and life-writing, Humphreys explores the complicated emotional landscape that can exist under even the most constant surface. Every book by Helen Humphreys is a masterclass on writing, and Machine Without Horses is no exception.

plus one.jpg

The Plus One by Sophia Money-Coutts

Think it’s too early in the season to watch Christmas Prince (spoiler alert: it’s not)? Well, you’d do well to check this one out. Polly Spencer’s fine, you guys! She’s single, turning thirty, and her love life has run dry, but she’s goooood. Don’t even worry. She’s also been assigned to write a story about the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, but he’s very clearly not ‘the one’ or even the ‘plus one’…. is he? The Plus One is a hilarious debut novel in the vein of Sophie Kinsella that is chock full of laughs.

christmas sisters.jpg

The Christmas Sisters by Sarah Morgan

Think it’s too early to watch The Christmas Prince but still looking to get in the Christmas mood? Look no further than Sarah Morgan’s The Christmas Sisters, the warm, happy book you will want to read over and over again (and that goes against basically everything else on this list). When three adopted sisters – all with secrets that they’re trying to keep from each other – return home to snowy Scotland for Christmas, tensions begin to run high. As their mother’s dreams of hosting the perfect Christmas start to unravel, she must rely on the magic of the holiday season to bring everyone together once again. See, no murderers or mysterious disappearances or demon cameras this time around! Just wholesome fun.

tattooist.jpg

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov was forcibly transported to Auschwitz-Birkenau. After discovering that he spoke multiple languages, the Nazis put him to work as a tattooist – the man who would tattoo numbers on his fellow prisoners. One day, Lale comforts a trembling young Jewish woman named Gita, and vows to survive the camp and marry her. A tale of love amidst the most heinous of atrocities, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is a fictional retelling of real-life events based on recorded interviews with Lale Sokolov. Fair warning: you will sob.

way of all flesh.jpg

The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Perry

Everyone knows that autumn is the season of diving head first into the macabre and The Way of All Flesh is no exception. Let me (read: the back of the book) set the stage: Edinburgh, 1847. A city of medicine, money… and

Image result for dun dun dun gif

MURDER! In particular, young women are being found dead across the Old Town, all having seemingly suffered similar gruesome ends. Enter Will Raven (best fictional name on this list? possibly…), a young med student working with Dr. Simpson, a brilliant and renowned physician. From this moment, Will meets Simpson’s intelligent but underprivileged Sarah Fisher, and the two of them must work together to solve the murders if they want to make it out alive. The Way of All Flesh is perfect for fans of Hannibal and The Alienist.

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

This one’s a bit of a Throwback Thursdayuesday, but with Kate Quinn’s new book on the way in December, I figured now was the perfect time to re-read The Alice Network! In 1947, a pregnant, unmarried college girl is sent to Europe by her parents to have her “little problem” taken care of. Instead, she flees to London, hoping to find out what happened to her cousin who seemingly disappeared in Nazi-occupied France. In 1915, Eve Gardiner is recruited to the war effort as a spy. Sent to France, Eve is trained by Lili, Queen of the Spies, who runs an entire network of secret agents right under the enemy’s nose. Thirty years later, Eve’s secluded life is upended when she encounters a young American woman uttering a name she hasn’t heard in decades…

seven deaths.jpg

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

If ever there was a book made to be read while drinking tea and wrapped up in a warm blanket, this is the one. Aiden, one of the guests summoned to the sweeping estate known as Blackheath, is summoned to a posh party. At that party, Evelyn Hardcastle, the young daughter of the house, is murdered. Seems pretty straight forward so far, right? Well, maybe not… Turns out, Aiden is doomed to repeat the day of Evelyn’s death over and over and over until he is able to finally prevent it. The catch? When he wakes up every morning, he’s in the body of a different guest. This is a classic murder mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie that has enough twists and turns to keep you guessing right until the very last page.

labyrinth.jpg

The Labyrinth of Spirits by Carlos Ruis Zafon

Okay, before we start on this one, LOOK AT THAT COVER! The entire package is incredible, but oh my gosh that cover… Anywayyyyy, The Labyrinth of Spirits is the latest installment in Zafon’s Cemetery of Forgotten universe, a collection of books that read as a love letter to reading and homage to masterful storytellers and books. This time around, we’re taken into the bowels of Franco’s Spain to investigate the mysterious disappearance of Mauricio Valls, Spain’s Minister of Culture. What follows is a suspenseful, heart-pounding thriller that you do not want to miss! And, for the second time… LOOK AT THAT COVER!

That’s all I’ve got, folks. What books are you most looking forward to curling up with this fall? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading!

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader or @JesseDorey15

One thought on “13 Books to Cozy Up With This Fall

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.