Rainy Summer Day Reads

Contrary to popular belief, rainy days are actually the best days. I mean, what’s better than curling up with a great book, a hot tea, and a blanket, and just reading the day away? If you’re like me and spend your rainy days reading, here are some books that you’ll want to stash away for your next rainy day reading adventure!

seth adams

If You Go Down to the Woods by Seth C. Adams

Life’s tough when you’re a 13-year-old outsider, but life gets a whole lot tougher when you and your friends find a burnt-out car abandoned in the woods with a pile of cash in the front seat, a body in the trunk, and someone desperate to hide his secrets. Perfect for fans of FargoIt, and Stranger Things (I know, I know, it’s a weird combo, but trust me), If You Go Down to the Woods is the creepy read for any rainy day.

three days missing

Three Days Missing by Kimberly Belle

It’s the call you never, ever want to receive if you’re a parent: your child has vanished without a trace and the police have no leads. This is exactly what happens to Kat Jenkins when she awakens to police on her doorstep, but, in a shocking twist of fate, the wrong mother gets the ransom call… Three Days Missing is a shocking, riveting thriller from the bestselling author of The Marriage Lie that is sure to keep you guessing until the final, shocking twist.

y648

Little Green by Tish Cohen

How much pressure can one marriage take? That’s the question that’s at the heart of Tish Cohen’s Little Green, the story of the Sorensens, a family on the brink of the disaster, cracking from the pressures of balancing demanding careers with family-life. When an unthinkable tragedy happens to their daughter while prepping their cabin for sale, the marriage breaks down and long-held resentments and difficulties come bubbling to the surface.

how to stop time

How To Stop Time by Matt Haig

Tom Hazard lives the same boring, ordinary life any 41-year-old man does. Except that he’s performed with Shakespeare, traveled the seas with Captain Cook, and shared cocktails with F. Scott Fitzgerald. You see, Tom Hazard may look like any ordinary 41-year-old, but he’s actually over 400-years-old… he just ages really, really well. His only problem? He’s starting to fall in love with a regular human being, and he doesn’t know what to do. This heartfelt, quirky tale of love, change, and hope will make you laugh on one page and reach for the tissues on the next!

word is murder

The Word Is Murder by Anthony Horowitz

 At 11:00 am, a woman enters a funeral parlor and makes arrangements for her own funeral. Six hours later, she’s found dead, strangled with a crimson curtain cord in her own home. Pretty standard mystery stuff, right? Well, not when you realize that Anthony Horowitz himself is a character in the novel, tasked with assisting the brilliant-yet-disgraced detective Daniel Hawthorne in writing his biography and investigating the murder. The Word Is Murder is an old-school, British murder mystery at its absolute finest, and Anthony Horowitz has enough tricks up his sleeves to make it feel utterly brand new.

jonasson

The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson

Allan Karlsson, everyone’s favourite 100-year-old man, is back to his old shenanigans, and this one is quite the whopper. What could possibly go wrong when you mix one hot air balloon, three bottles of champagne, a North Korean ship, and one suitcase full of contraband uranium? Well, you’re just going to have to read this hilarious, witty, and entertaining novel to find out!

bookshop.jpg

The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson

Miranda Brooks grew up in the stacks of her eccentric Uncle Billy’s bookstore, solving the inventive scavenger hunts he created just for her. But on Miranda’s twelfth birthday, Billy has a mysterious falling-out with her mother and suddenly disappears from Miranda’s life. She doesn’t hear from him again until sixteen years later when she receives unexpected news: Billy has died and left her Prospero Books, which is teetering on bankruptcy—and one final scavenger hunt. What follows is a tale of love, loss, and literature, equal parts fun and emotional.

y648

How To Be Famous by Caitlin Moran

Johanna Morrigan (aka Dolly Wilde) has it all: she is nineteen, lives in her own flat in London, and writes for the coolest music magazine in Britain. Her star is rising, just not quickly enough for her liking. When her unrequited love strikes it big, Johanna is thrust into the world of fame, leading her to start writing a magazine column critquing the lives of the rich and famous. How to Be Famous is a big-hearted, hilarious tale of fame and fortune – and all that they entail – from one of the funniest writers around.

the other woman.jpg

The Other Woman by Daniel Silva

Espionage, love, betrayal, legendary art restorers who also double as assassins… What more could you possibly want in a book?! Daniel Silva, the New York Times bestselling author, is back with a tale full of stunning double-crosses and plot twists. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown, James Rollins, and Wilbur Smith, you cannot go wrong by picking up an action-packed Daniel Silva novel on a gloomy, rainy day.

peices of her

Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter

Okay, let me paint a scene for you real quick. It’s Saturday and you’re at the mall with your mom to do a little bit of shopping. Something happens (no spoilers!), and, in an explosion of violence, your mom shows a completely different side of her than you’ve ever seen. Turns out, your mom’s been hiding her true identity for over 30 years. What would you do? Unfortunately for Andrea Gibson, this is the exact predicament she finds herself in. But when her mother is shot, she must go on the hunt to piece together the secrets of her past life. Pieces of Her is a wild, entertaining ride that you do not want to miss!

summer wives.jpg

The Summer Wives by Beatriz Williams

18 years after her first visit to Winthrop Island ends in tragedy, Miranda Schuyler returns, determined to uncover the secrets of the island’s past and clear the name of the man she loved all those years ago. The latest from New York Times bestselling author Beatriz WilliamsThe Summer Wives is a tale of love, class, power, and redemption that’s sure to keep you captivated on any rainy day.

Tell us, Savvy Readers: What’s your go-to rainy day read? Are you more of a tea-while-reading or coffee-while-reading person? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Stay dry and happy reading!

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader or @JesseDorey15!

Leave a Reply