50 Book Pledge Featured Read: The Word Is Murder

We’re back with our next 50 Book Pledge Featured Read, and oh boy do we have a wild one for you this time around.

Fresh off the overwhelming success of Magpie Murders, acclaimed mystery author Anthony Horowitz, perhaps best known for his take on the James Bond series, is back with The Word Is Murder, a book that is equal parts disturbing and playful, twisted and inventive.

word is murder

At 11:00 in the morning, a woman crosses a street in London, enters a funeral parlor, and makes arrangements for her own funeral. Six hours later, that very same woman is found dead, strangled from behind with a crimson curtain cord from her own house. Police are calling it a murder… Pretty straightforward, right? Just you wait.

murder.gif

Disgraced detective Daniel Hawthorne is assigned the case. He’s a bizarre man, set in his ways and quick to insults, but he gets the job done, and that’s all that matters. This is where things get a little… weird. Looking for help, Hawthorne reaches out to an old “friend” (we use this term quite loosely) of is, who just so happens to be Anthony Horowitz. Yes, the real Anthony Horowitz is a character in this novel. Keeping up so far? Okay, good! Because it’s about to get a whole lot weirder.

weird.gif

Horowitz, who is initially hesitant to help out because of his past experiences consulting with Hawthorne, joins the case when he finds himself unable to resist the mystery of the whole thing, and he begins to suspect that not everything is as it seems. And even Hawthorne himself might be hiding a secret or two…

secret.gif

I really can’t say enough about how much fun this book is to read. Anthony Horowitz is known for being inventive and playful with his novels, but this one raises the bar. Perfect for fans of Hercule Poirot, Miss Marple, Sherlock Holmes, and C. Auguste Dupin, as well as people who were/are addicted to Clue (*raises hand ever so slowly*), The Word Is Murder is a throwback to the classics that manages to find ways to stay fresh and original. I promise you will not be able to put this book down! After all, who doesn’t love a good murder mystery, right?

cool-motive-still-murder

The Word Is Murder is this week’s 50 Book Pledge Featured Read. Add it to your shelf today!

Finished? Let us know what you thought in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

I didn’t do it!

Jesse

Looking for someone to talk murder mysteries? Follow me on Twitter @JesseDorey15 and @SavvyReader!

 

Leave a Reply