Books All The Cool Dads Will Love

We all know that Father’s Day is coming up, right? Just say yes! We also all know that dads are legitimately the hardest people IN THE WORLD to shop for. (No, socks don’t count as a gift, dad.) Don’t fret, though. We’re here to help you out. Here’s a list of recommended reads that we guarantee any father will love!

father.gif

plot against president

The Plot Against the President by Sam Bourne

Let’s set the stage: America has elected a volatile demagogue as president, who is supported by his ruthless chief strategist, and he’s gotten himself into a dangerous war of words with North Korea. (We promise this is fiction.) With the world on the brink of nuclear war, Maggie Costello, a Washington operator, has discovered *duhn duhn duhn* a plot to kill the President. This book is so, so much fun, and is perfect for the Daniel Silva/David Baldacci/James Patterson-loving fathers out there!

rise and fall

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: A New History of a Lost World by Steve Brusatte

DINOSAURS. HAD. FEATHERS. Who knew? Thanks a lot, Jurassic ParkThe Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs is a wildly fun trek through about 200-million years of history and science, transporting us back to the time when dinosaurs not only roamed the earth, but dominated it and bringing us allllllll the way back to the present to teach us what we can learn from the fall of the dinosaurs. Filled with photographs and strikingly beautiful illustrations, The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs is the perfect gift for any dad (and also any Jurassic Park fan) out there.

happy brain

The Happy Brain: The Science of Where Happiness Comes From, and Why by Dean Burnett

Where does happiness come from, and why do we need it so much? Is lasting, permanent happiness possible―or should it be? And what does any of this have to do with the brain? These are the questions that drive comedian, bestselling author, and neuroscientist (right?!) Dean Burnett’s newest book, The Happy Brain. Comprised of interviews, cutting-edge scientific studies, research on emotions, and, of course, jokes, The Happy Brain is sure to be loved by those curious, science-minded dads out there.

pops.jpg

Pops: Fatherhood in Pieces by Michael Chabon

Okay, full disclosure before I continue: Michael Chabon is a legitimate top-3 favourite author of mine, so I might be a tad bit biased when I say this this book is SO GOOD! Beyond that, what else can I say that the title doesn’t already say? Borne out of a 2006 article from GQ and armed with his trademark combination of wit and intellect, Pops: Fatherhood in Pieces is a collection of essays about – you guessed it – being a father. It’s funny, it’s emotional, it’s smart, and it’s concise. Sold? Good.

steak revolution.jpg

Steak Revolution by Rob Firing

We all know those dads out there that think they’re a barbeque master and brag about their abilities while we politely struggle with the toughness of their steak because we’re good children… Well, for those fathers, I present Rob Firing’s Steak Revolution! Cooking steak has literally never been easier. I took a look through this one a little while ago, and I’m positive that even I could cook some of its recipes. (Note: I don’t know how to turn on a barbeque.)  That’s how easy this book makes it look. The beautiful, mouth-watering photos certainly help, too.

el chapo.jpg

Hunting El Chapo by Andrew Hogan & Douglas Century

True crime is all the rage, and Pablo Escobar is probably one of the most widely-known figures in that genre. Narcos came out in 2015, there’s a movie coming out in two weeks with Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz, and Hunting El Chapo has already been picked up by Sony. So, yeah, it’s safe to say that this is a pretty popular story. From infiltrating El Chapo’s inner circle to leading a white-knuckle manhunt with an elite brigade of trusted Mexican Marines, Hunting El Chapo is a story you have to read to believe, and is perfect for the true crime fan in any family!

word is murder.jpg

The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz

A woman goes to a funeral parlor to plan her own funeral. Six hours later, she turns up dead. Seems simple enough, right? Well, maybe not. Disgraced detective Daniel Hawthorne takes the case, and he’s got a… let’s say, interesting, partner – famed British crime novelist Anthony Horowitz. Yes, the Anthony Horowitz. Following so far? Things only get trickier from there, as Horowitz (the author, not the character) blends fact with fiction and creates a novel that only he can create. All in all, The Word Is Murder is one cheeky, fun ride of a novel, perfect for any dad!

secret life

The Secret Life of Bikers by Jerry Langton

Was your dad as obsessed with Sons of Anarchy as my dad was? Then this book is the perfect gift for him this Father’s Day! In The Secret Life of Bikers, bestselling true crime author Jerry Langton tells the stories of the men who live the biker life and they have never been told before. More than that, though, he also talks to the members of law enforcement tasked with hearing about these same stories from the other side of the ledger. Combining intrigue with real life drama, The Secret Life of Bikers might just be the most comprehensive look at biker culture yet.

noir

Noir by Christopher Moore

We’ve written about this book a few times before, but it’s blend of humour and adventure is just so unique that it needs to be brought up again! Everyone’s favourite satirist is back, this time taking on noir dramas and all of their melodramatic quirks. Boasting a story filled with hard-boiled detectives, hapless bartenders, a black mamba named Petey, and (maybe) an alien or two, Noir will have your father in stitches by the end of the first chapter.

book of m

The Book of M by Peng Shepherd

On a seemingly normal day in India, a man’s shadow suddenly disappears. He goes viral overnight and gains an enormous following, even as more and more shadows are disappearing. Everything is great! …until it’s not. Things turn dark when the world realizes that losing one’s shadow means losing one’s memories. And not just memories from childhood or anything. Memories like what fire is and what it can do to a human body… I won’t go into it much further, but rest assured this is a dark, fantastical read. Perfect for fans of The Passage and Station ElevenThe Book of M is sure to have your dad staying up late into the night to finish it in one (maybe two, max) sitting(s).

perfectionists.jpg

The Perfectionists by Simon Winchester

Simon Winchester, one of the world’s most beloved historians, is back, this time taking us through the advent of the Industrial Age and dropping us off in the present Digital Age. Using the idea of ‘precision’ as his guiding compass, The Perfectionists tries to answer some of life’s biggest questions, like where the lines should be drawn between nature and technology, and how technology is influencing our lives. All in all, The Perfectionists is the historical read this Father’s Day, and can be considered perfect for fans of Erik Larson and David Grann.

video games.jpg

A History of Video Games in 64 Objects by World Video Game Hall of Fame

Let’s face it: dad’s are the biggest nerds going. Why not encourage their nerdiness by gifting them this incredible collection that would make any gamer jealous? Filled with beautiful photographs and covering everything from the creation of Dungeons & Dragons to the sky-rocketing popularity of Minecraft and SkylandersA History of Video Games in 64 Objects is a must-have for any pop culture-obsessed dad out there!

giphy.gif

Did we miss anything? What books are you getting for your dad this Father’s Day? Let us know in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Do yourself a favour and give yourself some much-needed reading time tonight. You deserve it.

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @JesseDorey15 & @SavvyReader!

One thought on “Books All The Cool Dads Will Love

Leave a Reply