Feel Good Reads

Thrillers are all the rage these days, but sometimes it’s nice to sit down with a fun, happy, feel-good book. Right? With the long weekend coming up and spring weather (finally) making an appearance, it’s the perfect time of year to check out some lighter reads. Here are some of our most favourite feel good reads, plus two titles that we just can’t wait for!

how to fall in love

How to Fall in Love with a Man Who Lives in a Bush by Emmy Abrahamson

Perfect for fans of Jonas Jonasson (more on him later), this wholly original read is about Julie – a Swedish writer living in Vienna struggling to find an original idea who spends her nights browsing Netflix with her cat – and her relationship with Ben, a handsome, adventurous man who shakes up her so-so life. Oh, did we mention that Ben also lives in a public park?

leah on the offbeat

Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

The author of the wonderfully delightful Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is back with another installment in the Simon vs. universe. Leah Burke – yes, that Leah Burke – is at a bit of a crossroads: her mom knows she’s bisexual, but her friends, including Simon, don’t; she’s quite the artist, but grapples with self-doubt; and her group of friends is starting to fracture, pulling her in multiple directions.

how to stop time

How To Stop Time by Matt Haig

Tom Hazard is 41-years-old. Unlike most 41-year-olds, forever, Tom has been alive for centuries. He’s performed with Shakespeare, sailed with Captain Cook, and shared some drinks with F. Scott Fitzgerald. But then Tom meets Camille, and breaks his only rule: don’t fall in love. What follows is a wild, bittersweet time-travelling story that asks the question: How many lifetimes does it take to learn how to live?

positively izzy

Positively Izzy by Terri Libenson

The follow-up to the award-winning Invisible Emmie, Izzy is the creative-type who loves to act and create, but can’t seem to focus on any of her schoolwork. Bri is hyper-focused on school, refusing to “break out of her shell,” as her mom puts it. But on the day of the school talent show, their lives will intersect in more than one unexpected way.

caroline.jpg

Caroline by Sarah Miller

In this delightfully familiar story, Sarah Miller brings us back to the sheer joy of Little House on the Prairie. Told from the perspective of Caroline Ingalls (or Ma in the beloved series), Caroline tells the story of the family’s move West, and the hardships and joys that came along with pioneer life.

noir

Noir by Christopher Moore

The absurdly outrageous, sarcastically satiric, and always entertaining Christopher Moore is back, and he’s brought his zaniest satire yet with him. Set on the mean streets of post-World War II San Francisco, and featuring a diverse cast of characters, including a hapless bartender; his Chinese sidekick; a doll with sharp angles and dangerous curves; a tight-lipped Air Force general; a wisecracking waif; Petey, a black mamba; and many more, Noir is Christopher Moore at his finest.

two steps forward

Two Steps Forward by Graeme Simsion

Zoe and Martin – one an on-and-off-again artist, one an engineer – are looking to start again after a death and a divorce. They each set out for Spain, where they plan to walk the Camino, a trail that is said to possess the power to change a person. Told in alternating chapters written by husband-and-wife Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist, Two Steps Forward is a novel about what you decide to keep, what you decide to leave behind, and what you rediscover throughout life.

my oxford year

My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan

Telling the story of Ella Duran, a young woman committed to following her political dreams, and her relationship with Jamie Davenport, a smart-mouthed young man with a life-changing secret, My Oxford Year is perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks. My Oxford Year is a life-affirming novel at its core, one destined to make you laugh, make you cry, and, most of all, make you feel. Also good news: My Oxford Year has already been optioned into a film!

***

Are you like us and simply can never have enough feel good reads? Well, here are two more upcoming releases that we are over the moon excited about!

ayesha at last.jpg

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin (Out 6/12/2018)

Billed as Pride and Prejudice with a modern twist, Ayesha at Last tells the story of Ayesha Shamsi, a wanna-be poet working as a teacher to pay off debts she owes to her uncle, who lives with her loud and boisterous Muslim family, and who doesn’t want an arranged marriage despite being, at the moment, alone. Still following? Good. Enter Khalid – smart and handsome, but conservative and judgmental – and you have a recipe for one of the most fun novels you will ever read!

9781443455558_5a216.jpg

The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson

In 2009, Jonas Jonasson introduced the world to Allan Karlsson, otherwise known as The Hunred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappearedand helped give birth to the slew of fun Swedish novels that followed. Well, good news! Everyone’s favourite Hundred-Year-Old Man is back, and he’s bringing a hot air balloon and three bottles of champagne with him this time.

What are your absolute, most favourite feel good reads ever? Let us know on Twitter @SavvyReader!

May the rest of your week move quickly, the weather be beautiful, and the reads be tremendous!

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter! @JesseDorey15 & @SavvyReader!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s