9 Books Your Mom Will Love

Mother’s Day is just around the corner (no really, check your calendar!) and we’re here to help you get ready. Below is a list of books that we’re pretty sure (okay, we’re positive) your mom won’t be able to put down. And there’s no better gift than sharing the love of reading, am I right?

Homefor3.jpg

The Home for Unwanted Girls by Joanna Goodman

If she hasn’t already read it, Joanna Goodman’s newest novel is the perfect story to gift your mom. The Home for Unwanted Girls follows a young, unwed mother who is forcibly separated from her daughter at birth, and explores the lengths to which they go to find each other. It’s a touching, suspenseful, and heart-wrenching story that your mom will adore.

TWITW9.jpg

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

If your mom is a thriller reader, she’ll love A.J. Finn’s The Woman in the Window! This psychological suspense novel has been on the Canadian bestseller list since it went on sale in January (what I’m saying here is that everyone is reading it, and everyone is loving it!). It’s also in the works to be a movie starring Amy Adams so next year, you can gift mom a movie ticket 😉!

Magnolia4.jpg

Magnolia Table by Joanna Gaines 

The new cookbook featuring Gaines family favourites—like Chicken Pot Pie, White Cheddar Bisque, Lemon Pie, Mac and Cheese, and more—is sure to please your mom if she’s into hosting, gardening, family gatherings, beautiful photography, or even just the Gaines family!

AliceNetwork5.jpg

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

This endless bestseller has done it all—Reese Witherspoon’s book club, the Girly Book Club book of the year, a Canadian bestseller, a New York Times & USA Today bestseller, one of NPR’s best books of the year, a summer book pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads… Should I go on? Basically, everyone picked this book as the best, so why wouldn’t your mom do the same?

PM3.jpg

The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy

In the words of Kerry Washington (who is set to star in the film adaptation of this amazing book!), “The Perfect Mother is a gripping page-turner that explores the pressures of modern motherhood as well as a mother’s absolute worst nightmare. At once wonderfully nuanced and compulsively readable, it keeps you guessing at every moment, up until the very end.”

Screen Shot 2018-04-25 at 4.37.51 PM

Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows by Balli Kaur Jaswal

This lively, thought-provoking East-meets-West story is about community, friendship, and women’s lives at all ages. It’s a spicy and alluring mix of Together Tea and Calendar Girls, and perfect for mom! Reese Witherspoon (also a mom, I might add!) made it her book club pick. Jaswal has written a fun, insightful novel that will keep your mom flipping the pages!

Screen Shot 2018-05-03 at 10.56.09 AM.png

This Is Me by Chrissy Metz

Chrissy Metz, the Golden Globe and Emmy nominated star of NBC’s This Is Us, has written an inspiration book about life and its lessons. This isn’t just your standard memoir—Chrissy writes openly and honestly about taking your rightful place in the world, asking for what you deserve, and not being afraid of rejecting and fighting for yourself.

Educated2

Educated by Tara Westover

For readers of The Glass Castle and Wild comes a stunning new memoir about family, loss, and the struggle for a better future. This stunning, moving new memoir has opened so many eyes to a different way of life—Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Your mom will love this story about an empowering young woman.

DutchWife5.jpg

The Dutch Wife by Ellen Keith

If your mom is into historical fiction but you want to get her something unlike anything she’s read before, we recommend The Dutch Wife! This book follows Marijke de Graaf who is given a terrible choice: to suffer a slow death in the labour camp or, for a chance at survival, to join the camp brothel.

Well Savvy Readers, what book from this list do you think your mom would enjoy most? We can’t wait to hear, so tell us in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader! And yes, we promise not to tell her!

Ashley

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader & @ashleyposluns

Leave a Reply