Series to Get Into in 2018

Hi, Savvy Readers!

Are you looking for a book that you won’t be able to put down? How about a whole series of books that you won’t be able to put down? One’s that won’t leave you saying “now what?”. We’ve come up with a list of series featuring some of our most anticipated books of the year, including debut series and series conclusions! Get ready to sit back and indulge…

The DI Callanach Crime Thrillers by Helen Fields

Helen Fields continues her *perfectly* thrilling series with TWO new books hitting shelves this year. Perfect Remains, the first book in the series, follows Detective Inspector Luc Callanach as he investigates the missing persons case of Elaine Buxton. Trust me when I say that once you read this one, you won’t be able to stop! Perfect Prey is the second book in the series, already on shelves, and then followed by Perfect Death (March 13, 2018) and Perfect Silence (August 21, 2018). The new addiction for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Aldridge. Mark your calendars!

The Lost Ones and It All Falls Down by Sheena Kamal

Psychological thriller author Sheena Kamal follows the same first introduced the brilliant, fearless, and deeply flawed Nora Watts in The Lost Ones last summer. In her new book, It All Falls Down, hitting shelves this July, Nora Watts finds trouble once again as she searches for the truth about her dead father. There’s danger heading her way, but it might be too late before she realizes it…

The Frieda Klein Series by Nicci French

Louise Penny calls Nicci French’s internationally bestselling Frieda Klein series “fabulous”, and there really is no better way to describe it. Dark Saturday hit shelves last summer, and we were beyond ready for Sunday Silence to come out this week. These thrillers pit one of the most fascinating characters in contemporary fiction (Frieda Klein) against an enemy like no other. The FINAL book in the series, The Day of the Dead, is coming this summer, with an ending you’ll never forget.

y648.jpg

The Everless duology by Sara Holland

Everless is the first in a new young adult duology that gives a whole new meaning to the saying “time is money.” In the Kingdom of Sempera, time is extracted from blood (of the poor) and turned into coins (for the rich) to consume to add to their lifespan. It’s an incredible debut novel starring a fierce heroine, and it’ll leave you counting down the seconds until the next installment. Perfect for fans of Red Queen, Three Dark Crowns, and Six of Crows.

The Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard

We all know  about Red Queen, but none of us know how this jaw-dropping series is going to end. It feels like we’ve been waiting for War Storm FOREVERbut rest assured that the wait is finally (almost) over—it goes on sale in Canada this May! War Storm is the explosive final book in this #1 New York Times bestselling series where victory comes at a price. Mare must embrace her fate and summon all her power in this epic conclusion.

y648-1.jpg

Markswoman by Rati Mehrotra

Canadian author Rati Mehrotra brings us the first entry is a debut duology that displays the inventiveness of the works of Sarah Beth Durst, Marie Lu, and S.J. Kincaid. In Markswoman, Kyra is the youngest in the Order of Kali, a highly trained sisterhood of elite warriors armed with telepathic blades. But Kyra harbours a secret desire to avenge her dead family. The line between justice and vengeance is razor thin… thin as the blade of a knife.

Queens of Renthia Series by Sarah Beth Durst

First, there was The Queen of Blood, the first book in a mesmerizing epic fantasy series about an idealistic young student who becomes allies with a banished warrior in a battle to save their realm. This book is followed by The Reluctant Queen, out at the end of this month (January 30th), where Daleina hides the terrible secret that she is dying.  Then, the stunning conclusion to this series, The Queen of Sorrow, hits shelves later this year.

y648-2.jpg

The Cult on Fog Island by Mariette Lindstein

The first book in The Cult on Fog Island trilogy is coming to bookstores near you on May 15th of this year. Sofia has just finished university and ended a troubled relationship when she gets invited to visit Fog Island by the leader of a lecture she attended on the New Age movement. She can’t ignore she attraction she feels for the leader, Franz Oswald, so she chooses to stay on the island. But when summer gives way to winter, it quickly becomes clear that no one leaves Fog Island.

The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

The fourth installment in the Shatter Me series, following Shatter Me, Unravel Me, and Ignite Me is almost here. This series is perfect for readers of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Legend, following a young girl whose touch is fatal. The upcoming book in the series, Restore Me, picks up Juliette and Warner’s story where it left off and answers who will Juliette become in the face of adversity? Will she finally be able to control the power she wields and use it for good?

9781443413794_9e2d9.jpg

The Cemetery of Forgotten Books Series by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The series finale in the Cemetery of Forgotten Books world is coming your way, following The Shadow of the Wind, The Angel’s Game, and The Prisoner of Heaven. The new book, The Labyrinth of the Spirits, stars a daring new heroine whose investigation shines a light on the dark history of Francois, Spain. It’s an unforgettable final volume of the cycle of bestselling novels from Ruiz Zagon that you won’t want to miss!

9781443428392_94894.jpg

The Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer

Read it before you see it! Annihilation, the first book in Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach trilogy, is soon to hit theatres! Area X is cut off from the rest of the continent, and this book opens with the twelfth secret government expedition of the area, following a group of four women on a mission to map the terrain and collect specimens. Watch the trailer here!

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

The second season of one of our favourite middle grade series is coming to Netflix really soon, and we highly suggest reading up on the books it covers (#5-9), or you know, the whole series, before it does! They’re quick reads that you can definitely fit in before the March 30th release date of season 2! Watch the trailer for season 2 here!

What series are you most looking forward to getting into this year? Are there installments coming out in a favourite series of yours? Let us know in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader, and be sure to add the books to your 50 Book Pledge shelf!

Ashley

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader & @ashleyposluns.

Leave a Reply