Most Anticipated Reads of (Early) 2018!

Hi Savvy Readers! Can you believe it’s almost the end of 2017? Did you meet your 50 Book Pledge goal this year?

I don’t know about you, but I’m super excited for a brand new year of reading! A new year equals new books (in my opinion, anyway)! There are some really amazing books coming out next year, and we’ve compiled a list of the ones we’re very eager to read. Check it out and get ready to stack up your 2018 TBR list!

112951.jpg

The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn (January 2)

This is going to be the biggest book of 2018 (trust us) and we are so, so SO excited. The Woman in the Window follows Anna Fox, a recluse living in New York City unable to leave her home. She drinks wine, watches old movies, and spies on her neighbors. When she witnesses a crime in a neighboring house, Anna’s world begins to crumble and the line between paranoia and reality begins to blur…

y648.jpg

This Could Hurt by Jillian Medoff (January 9)

From acclaimed author Jillian Medoff comes a powerful, illuminating novel about the pivotal role work plays in our lives, as shown through five members of a Human Resources department at a company undergoing major changes. This Could Hurt is so relatable, as it explores the inner workings of a company and follows  five unforgettable characters as they scheme, fall in and out of love, and dream big and small.

y648 (1).jpg

In A Cottage In A Wood by Cass Green (January 23)

Neve comes across a troubled woman on a bridge late at night. The woman forces a package into Neve’s hands and jumps to her death. Two weeks later, Neve receives an unexpected lifeline: a charming cottage in Cornwall left to her by the woman on the bridge. But when Neve arrives, her dream home quickly becomes her worst nightmare – a house hiding a twisted secret that will change her life forever. This psychological thriller will have you gasping until the very end!

9780062390516_181e7.jpg

The Wife by Alafair Burke (January 23)

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke comes a riveting domestic thriller in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself. When Angela’s husband is accused of a terrible crime, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth her own secrets.This twisted novel asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

9781443451383.jpg

How to Stop Time by Matt Haig (February 6)

The beloved author of The Humans and The Girl Who Saved Christmas  is back with an unforgettable new novel! How to Stop Time is a wild, bittersweet story about a man who’s been alive for centuries, changing identities to stay alive. Working as a history teacher in modern London, Tom Hazard tries to keep his past from catching up, and to remember the #1 rule: don’t fall in love. This is a heartwarming story about losing and finding yourself, about the certainty of change, about the mistakes humans are doomed to repeat.

112700.jpg

The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore by Kim Fu (February 13)

Five girls who are attending a sleepaway camp set off on an overnight kayaking trip to a nearby island. What was supposed to be a night of excitement and friendship quickly turns sour when the girls find themselves stranded without adults to help them survive. The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore follows what happens to the girls during this fateful trip, and the aftermath in the years to come. This book is a moving story about how a tragedy can alter the lives it touches, and it is absolutely stunning!

9781443452472_2340f.jpg

Educated by Tara Westover (February 20)

Tara Westover grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school. Tara’s first day of university was her first day in school—ever—and she would eventually graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought. Educated is Tara Westover‘s story, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future.

9780062688903.jpg

Don’t Call Me Princess by Peggy Orenstein (February 27)

Prolific journalist and bestselling author Peggy Orenstein brings us her first ever collection of essays, drawn from three decades of writing on women’s issues. These issues are still as relevant today as when they were originally published, and this collection will be incredibly powerful and important.

9781443454216.jpg

The Storm by Arif Anwar (March 13)

Inspired by the 1970 Bhola Cyclone which killed half a million people overnight, The Storm interweaves five stories chronicling fifty years of Bangladeshi history.  With incredible writing and moving climaxes, The Storm beautifully explores the ideas family, love, honor and sacrifice.

9781443455633.jpg

Two Steps Forward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist (March 20)

We can’t wait for the latest novel from The Rosie Project author Graeme Simsion and his wife Anne Buist. A story of mid-life and second chances, two misfits walk 2,000 kilometres along the Camino de Santiago to find themselves and, perhaps, each other along the way.

9781443452861.jpg

That Time I Loved You by Carrianne Leung (March 27)

From the author of the Toronto Book Award—shortlisted The Wondrous Woo comes a new novel about a Scarborough subdivision in the 1970s. In an area populated by newcomers from all over the world, a series of sudden catastrophic events reveals that not everyone’s dreams come true.

9781443454254.jpg

 

The Dutch Wife by Ellen Keith (April 17)

From the Netherlands to Germany to Argentina, The Dutch Wife braids together the stories of three individuals who share a dark secret and are entangled in two of the most oppressive reigns of terror in modern history. This is a novel about the blurred lines between love and lust, abuse and resistance, and right and wrong, as well as the capacity for ordinary people to persevere. If you loved The Alice Network, you’ll love this one!

9780062684226.jpg

The Home for Unwanted Girls by Joanna Goodman (April 17)

We’re so excited for another page-turner from Joanna Goodman, the author of The Finishing School. This suspenseful, provocative novel is filled with love, secrets, and deceit. It’s the story of a young unwed mother who is forcibly separated from her daughter at birth and the lengths to which they go to find each other.

SarahSelecky-41-682x1024

Radiant Shimmering Light by Sarah Selecky (April 24)

The Scotiabank Giller Prize–shortlisted author Sarah Selecky delivers us a funny and wise novel about female friendship, the face we show the world online and letting your own light shine. Lilian Quick is reunited with her long-lost cousin Florence, who has become the face of a compelling new feminine lifestyle empowerment brand. With the help of her cousin, Lilian’s life changes drastically and becomes everything she’s dreamed of. But is it everything she wants?

y648 (2).jpg

The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy (May 1)

The Perfect Mother is a thrilling novel centered around a group of  new mothers whose lives become indelibly connected when one of their newborns goes missing. A complex, nuanced, and addictively readable story that exposes the truth of modern mothers’ lives as it explores the power of an ideal that is based on a lie.

y648 (3).jpg

The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald (May 1)

In a small East Anglian town, Florence Green decides, against local opposition, to open a bookshop. She’s tried to change the way things have always been done, and as a result, she has to take on not only the people who have made themselves important, but natural and even supernatural forces too. Her fate will strike a chord with anyone who knows that life has treated them with less than justice.

9780008280253.jpg

If You Go Down To The Woods by Seth C. Adams (May 8)

This book is perfect for fans of Stephen King’s It and Stranger Things! On a hot summer afternoon, four kids find a burnt-out car in the woods. What starts out as a mystery for the “Outsiders’ Club” to solve, quickly turns into a nightmare once a figure known as the Collector arrives…

9780062798206.jpg

All The Ever Afters by Danielle Teller (May 22)

There have been numerous retelling of fairy tales over the years, but we’re especially eager for this one! All The Ever Afters is a luminous retelling of the classic Cinderella tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, the “evil” step-mother.

Which books are you most excited for? Let us know in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy Reading,

Kelsey

Follow me on Twitter @iamkelseyknight

3 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Reads of (Early) 2018!

  1. I’m really interested in 3 novels from authors I love: Red Clocks by Leni Zumas, The Girls in the Picture by Melanie Benjamin, and Grist Mill Road by Christopher Yates.

Leave a Reply