Books to Read If You Liked Wonder Woman

Hi Savvy Readers!

Let’s be honest: if you found yourself regularly heading to the movie theatre this summer, there’s a good chance that you were swept up by the excitement of seeing Wonder Woman. Am I right?

We know—seeing a female character who refuses to accept the values and traditions of society in attempt to make others understand her idealistic worldview was amazing, and we’re sure she’ll be a role model for future generations. If your heart is still aflutter from seeing Wonder Woman, we’ve put together some recommendations for your TBR that should appease your own warrior spirit.

y648.png

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

If you were captivated by seeing spies navigate the treacherous World War I setting, be sure to put The Alice Network by Kate Quinn on your reading list.  The story follows two women: American Charlie St. Clair, who is in-search of her long-lost cousin Rose in Europe during the aftermath of World War II,  and Eve Gardiner, a hard-drinking French spy who was part of the real- life network of spies known as the Alice Network. The two go on a journey where they examine their own demons and emotionally complex pasts.   

 

y648-1.png

The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst

The first book of the epic fantasy series, The Queens of Renthia, follows Daleina in a world inhabited by malevolent spirits who wish to rid it of all humans.  Daleina has desires of becoming the queen: the person who can harness the magical power that can prevent these spirits from destroying humankind. If you found yourself enthralled by the fantastical plot of Wonder Woman, where the female hero has the weight of the world on her shoulders, then The Queen of Blood is for sure right up your alley.    

 

 y648-2.png

Somewhere in France by Jennifer Robson 

What made Wonder Woman infinitely relatable and admirable to such a wide audience? Her desire to break free from the rigid expectations that were thrust upon her, even if that meant putting herself in more danger. If you’re looking for something a little more down to earth, Jennifer Robson’s Somewhere in France will be worth checking out.  The story follows Lady Elizabeth Neville –Ashford, a woman who goes against her family’s expectations by becoming an ambulance driver in the newly-formed Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps during World War I.  

 

y648-3.png

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Nimona is a young shapeshifter who enjoys mischievous acts of villainy and, along with Lord Ballister Blackheart, she sets out to prove that those at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t as perfect as everyone thinks they are.  With vibrant visuals, a heartfelt story and sharp wit, Nimona is perfect if you’re looking for a book involving a central female character with superpowers, suited for all ages!


91827.jpg

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

Fallon, the teenage daughter of a Celtic King, is excited to follow in his footsteps by joining his royal war band. However, she is captured by brigands who sell her to a training school for female gladiators owned by Julius Ceasar, who invaded their homeland years before, resulting in the death of her sister.  While being strong in the face of rivalries, bloody battles, as well as forbidden love, Fallon must prove that she is deserving of her own place in history.  If intense sword-and-sandal dueling gets your blood pumping, move this one up to the tip-top of your TBR!

 

 y648-4.png

The Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard

In the first novel of The Red Queen series, we are introduced to Mare Barrow. She is a seventeen year-old girl, and member of the commoner social class The Reds. When she begins working in the Silver Palace, she discovers that she has powers of her own. While the Silver elite wish to retain her secret, Mare wishes to use her powers to bring down the regime. Through following her heart, she realizes that she has the power to change the world around her: an idea prevalent in many stories, no doubt because of the positive and hopeful outlook it can create.

What do you think Savvy Readers? Are you enticed by these titles? Can you think of any others that we’d love? Let us know what you suggest in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Jordan

Advertisements

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

2 thoughts on “Books to Read If You Liked Wonder Woman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s