If You Liked Somewhere in France, Then Try…

If you liked Somewhere in France by Jennifer Robson, then try Seven Days in May by Kim Izzo. Here’s why…

Somewhere in France follows Lady Elizabeth Neville-Ashford who comes from an aristocratic family but wishes for adventure and love. As the war begins, Elizabeth (or Lily) decides to travel to London and join the Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps. It is here that she begins to save lives and assist in the war efforts. It is also here that she is reunited with Robert Fraser, her brother’s best friend. As their love story takes off, Lily must go against her family’s wishes.

Similarly, Brooke and Sydney travel to London in Seven Days in May by Kim Izzo. The two sisters hop on the Lusitania, not knowing the danger that lies ahead. Meanwhile, Isabel is working for the British Admiralty in London, wanting an escape from her past life. Their lives collide in a struggle for survival as the Lusitania meets its deadly fate. Their lives are completely changed by the First World War, much like Lily’s.

Both novels discuss the trauma of war and its devastation. The characters must overcome the situation and their losses in order to survive and move forward. The authors depict these events truthfully and with historical accuracy. There are also aspects of romance in both stories that nicely contrast the absolute horror of the war and the events within each novel.

If you are someone who enjoys historical fiction with romantic elements, and someone who adores Jennifer Robson‘s novels (like us!), you will not be disappointed with Seven Days in May by Kim Izzo. Let us know if you’ll be adding it to your TBR in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader !

Happy Reading!

Destiny

Follow me on Twitter @destinygiakatis.

Advertisements

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s