50 Book Pledge Featured Read: The Colour of Our Sky

Happy Monday, Savvy Readers!

I don’t know about you, but I’m well on my way to reading 50 books for this year’s #50BookPledge, and I’m pretty sure the newly released The Colour of Our Sky by Amita Trasi could very well be one of my top five.

In the vein of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and The Golden Son by Shilpi Somaya Gowda, The Colour of Our Sky tells the story of two Indian girls, and remarkable friendship that grows between them.

The narrative alternates between Tara, the daughter of an upper-middle-class family living in Mumbai, and Mukta, a lower caste girl from a poor village. When Mukta is brought to Tara’s home as a serving girl, a deep friendship sparks between them. But that all changes on the harrowing night Mukta is kidnapped from Tara’s bedroom.

Eleven years pass before an adult Tara returns to India in hopes of finding her dearest friend. As we come to learn, there’s more to Tara’s involvement in that fateful night that she’s willing to admit; she’s searching for her own retribution as much as for her lost friend’s.

girl-reading-reading-a-book-gif_500-260.gif

Tara, obstinate, fiery and determined, if a bit adrift after a series of tragedies in her own life, is not always the most likeable character. But as she moves towards closure and self-forgiveness, she brings a lot of good to a desperate community.

Mukta is the heart of the story, and her story is one of heartbreak. She is born into a family of temple prostitutes and attempts to delay the looming threat of the sex trade make up her childhood and adolescence. Mukta’s struggle against her so-called “fate” is raw, honest, and eye-opening. Wise beyond her years, many of the books most beautiful passages – and this is a book of gorgeous, thoughtful prose – come from her.

 “Other days, I’d remind myself what Amma used to tell me – the colour of our sky will be bright again, so I shouldn’t lose hope.”

A testimony to the power of sisterhood and the powerful, all-encompassing bonds woman form, The Colour of Our Sky is a poignant, unsettling, but somehow hopeful read. It leaves a big impression, especially because Mukta’s story could be shared by so many other lost girls today.

The Colour of Our Sky will stay with you long after its final pages.

Add The Colour of Our Sky to your 50 Book Pledge TBR list or read along with us this week! Let us know your thoughts in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader.

– Sharon

Advertisements

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s