50 Book Pledge Weekly Roundup: Feb 19-24

Happy weekend, readers!

We’ve had a busy week, full of fun bookish things and good weather! So good that we even hinted at some spring titles we’re excited for! In case you missed it, there’s more details below, plus some pretty great contests to enter (and get excited for). So, read on!

reading.gif

The 50 Book Pledge

The 50 Book Pledge is looking pretty good, Savvy Readers! We have just over 4,500 pledgers and we’re at 17% of our community goal! Don’t forget to tell all your book loving friends about this great platform for tracking their reads, earning rewards, and entering exclusive contests! (Plus more fun you don’t even know about yet…).

giphy.gif

This Week’s Featured Read

0220_LonelyHeartsHotel.jpg

Rose and Pierrot seem doomed from the start, living in a Montreal orphanage in 1910, but they quickly win the hearts of some of the most impressionable members of society.  They dream of one day directing a show of their own, The Snowflake Icicle Extravaganza.  Their talents take them on many a great adventure, but Rose and Pierrot quickly learn that all good things must come to an end. Read our full review here, and check out what our fellow readers thought below!

“The Lonely Hearts Hotel is a fantastic story that has many different layers. It’s raw and shocking and very unique.” – Suze, Amazon

“Perhaps Heather O’Neill’s best work to date. I will read, re-read, share and obsess over this treasure for years to come.” – Amazon Customer, Amazon

I was hooked from the first page. Very captivating… Canadian author for the win!” – Sarah, Indigo

“O’Neill is a master craftsman. She drew me into a vivid world and I was hooked immediately.” – twasi, Indigo

“I wish I could do justice to describing this book. Heather O’Neill’s writing is utterly unique and, to me, wonderfully fulfilling. I feel like I’ve read a fairy tale for grown-ups.” – Andrea, Goodreads

Want to share your thoughts on our Featured Reads? Leave a comment or send us a link to your blog post on our weekly reviews for a chance to be featured here!

This Week on The Savvy Reader

If You Liked The Nest, Then Try…

thenest_perfectlittleworld

Here, we shared why if you liked The Nest, you’ll love Perfect Little World by Kevin Wilson. Both explore family relations and what it really means to be a family.

Spring Releases We Can’t Wait For

springtbr

It’s finally (almost) spring, and we’re getting ready! This week, we got to share our most anticipated spring releases that we just can’t wait for everyone to get their hands on! Check out the list and be sure to tell us what you think when you finally do get a chance to read them!

Top 10 Books to Take You Elsewhere

when-you-come-back

We don’t know a lot about running away, but we do know a lot about escaping in our books… Come on, let’s go on an adventure!  We’ll lead the way.

Bookmarks: February 24th

There’s a lot of fun news on Bookmarks this week that has us seriously fangirling. I mean, we’re talking about Angie Thomas and Emma Watson, can you blame us? #NOSHAME.

Contests & Giveaways

MissYou1.jpg

You still have a chance to be an #HCCFirstLook reader! This month’s pick is Miss You by Kate Eberlen and it’s perfect for fans of One Day. You don’t want to miss out! Find out the details on how to enter here.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 1.56.41 PM.png

Does this look familiar? Well, it should!! Real soon, HCC March Madness will be back in action with another round of incredible books for you to vote for! That also means you have the chance to win a library of 64 books (!!!) plus vote for your favourite book and cheer it on to become the 2017 champion! Stay tuned here for updates!

HeatherONeill_50BP_Badge.png

Plus, a new badge! All 50 Book Pledgers now have the chance to earn our starry HEATHER O’NEILL badge when they read any Heather O’Neill masterpiece. Click here to find out which books are eligible and start reading to have this beauty featured on your shelf!

Happy reading, Savvy Readers!

Ashley

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader & @ashleyposluns

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “50 Book Pledge Weekly Roundup: Feb 19-24

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s