Bookmarks: February 24th

Happy Friday, Savvy Readers! I hope you’ve had a great week. I’ve been really enjoying the nicer weather lately and here at The Savvy Reader we’ve even started to look forward to spring. Not only that, we’ve also been enjoying all of the fun bookish news of the week. So, what are we waiting for? Let’s dive in!

1.  Watch: What Inspired Angie Thomas to Write The Hate U Give? (And More!)

the-hate-u-give-angie-thomas-black-lives-matter

It’s almost here! One of our most highly anticipated books of February, The Hate U Give, comes out next week. This story is timely and important and we can’t wait for everyone to read it! In the meantime, The Hate U Give author Angie Thomas had a chat with Epic Reads about where her inspiration for the book came from, who her favourite rapper is, and activism. Watch the video here!

2.  Read with Emma Watson aka Real Life Hermione Granger

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-8-41-44-pm

Emma Watson is a reading (and recommending) machine and she’s showing no signs of stopping (thank goodness!). Entertainment Weekly recently rounded up every book that she’s ever recommended into one handy list, including How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran and The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. Emma Watson book club, anyone?

3. YA Movie News Update!

We’re so excited!!!! As you know, we *love* Simon and the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli and Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake and soon we’ll love the movies too! It was announced this week that Jennifer Garner will be joining Simon and the Homo Sapiens Agenda the movie to play Simon’s mom. Read more about the news here! It was also announced this week that the film rights to adapt Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake have been acquired by Fox. Read more about that here.

4.  Don’t Miss Out on the New #HCCFirstLook!

missyou2

It’s that time again: HarperCollins Canada is looking for new HCC First Look participants! This time they’re offering an advanced preview of Miss You, Kate Eberlen‘s new book that’s perfect for fans of David NichollsOne Day, to ten lucky readers. Intrigued? Click here to see how you can be a part of HCC First Look!

Alright, Savvy Readers! There was a lot to be excited about this week. What was your favourite bookish news story? Share your thoughts with us on Twitter @SavvyReader or in the comments below!

Karen

Follow me on Twitter @karenfma

Advertisements

Posted by

Graduated English Major, book lover, tea drinker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s