Spring Releases We Can’t Wait For

TGI(almost)F, Savvy Readers!

As if I needed to make my #TBR list longer… These beauties are coming out soon, and I can’t wait to delve into them as the nice, warmer weather hits!

reading outside.gif

A New Model.jpg

A New Model by Ashley Graham (On Sale 05/09/2017)

Full disclosure:  I have a massive crush on Ashley Graham… Like, I get notifications from her on Instagram so that I can immediately check my feed and ogle her perfection.  She has appeared on the covers of magazines like Cosmopolitan, British Vogue, and – how could we forget? – the Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue. Not only did her beautiful face and curves grace the publication, she was the first size 14 model to ever appear on the cover *swoon*. In her memoir, A New Model, she talks about body image, her life before and after modeling, and her journey to unapologetic self-acceptance.  This book is meant to motivate, accept, and celebrate all of us.

 

109234.png

Crying for the Moon by Mary Walsh (On Sale 04/18/2017)

Set in 1960s Newfoundland, Mary Walsh’s debut novel centres around Maureen: daughter of an abusive mother and alcoholic father.  Maureen can’t stand her Catholic school, with the nuns always breathing down her neck.  She desperately wants to go to Montreal and be a party of Expo 67, so she fakes her way into the school choir.  When she arrives in Montreal, she escapes from the nuns and sneaks into the city.  In just a few hours, Maureen’s life changes forever.  With no one left to count on, her strength and perseverance will be tested to the limit.

 

images

This is Just My Face by Gabourey Sidibe (On Sale 05/02/2017)

Gabourey Sidibe… do I even need to say anything else?! From her skyrocket to fame after her 2009 starring role in Precious to her long list of TV appearances, Gabby has established a large and loving fanbase.  This memoir is a grippingly honest account of her life before acting, including living with a polygamous father, her subway-superstar mother, and her struggles with friendship, depression, race, and weight.  Gabourey Sidibe is #GOALS and I cannot wait to learn more about her.

Dreaming the Beatles.jpg

Dreaming the Beatles by Rob Sheffield (On Sale 04/25/2017)

This is the Beatles book I’ve been waiting for. I don’t know about you, but I have enough books analyzing each album, telling each of their stories before and after Please Please Me, and blaming Yoko Ono for their breakup.  This book is about what the Beatles mean today.  Why are they still so popular?  Why are they still so relevant and so important to us, almost fifty years after they broke up?  There seems to be a simple answer to these questions:  these four shaped the music we know and love today.  But the real answer is so much more than that – so much bigger than four kids from Liverpool. My Beatles collection will not be complete without this book.

 

Mitzi Bytes.jpg

Mitzi Bytes by Kerry Clare (On Sale 03/14/2017)

Imagine Harriet the Spy as an adult in today’s digital world. Sarah Lundy, A.K.A. Mitzi Bytes, has been running her anonymous blog for fifteen years undetected.  Until she opens an email saying “Time’s up.  You’re officially found out.”  She races to find the sender’s identity before her own is revealed to her husband, her friends, and the world.  Sarah’s blog narrates her own experiences as well as stories from those closest to her.  Rushing to keep her true identity hidden, Sarah quickly learns that everyone has a secret.  I have been looking forward to this release for months, and I must say that Kerry Clare’s dedication to feminism and activism is deeply inspiring. (Sorry for all the likes and retweets, Kerry!  I promise I’m a regular person and not a crazed fan… mostly).

 

When You Find Out the World is Against You.jpg

When You Find Out the World is Against You by Kelly Oxford (On Sale 04/18/2017)

Professional sh*t disturber Kelly Oxford is hilarious in her new novel about modern life, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling. Rolling Stone named her one of the Funniest People on Twitter, but she is much more than just a comedian.  She created the hashtag #NotOkay, and millions of women came together to share their stories of sexual assault on social media. Observational, personal, and downright comical, I can’t wait to read more from this down-to-earth lady.

Eat Delicious.jpg

Eat Delicious by Dennis Prescott (On Sale 04/18/2017)

I’m not usually one for cookbooks, but Eat Delicious’ outstanding photography and tempting recipes have me counting down the days until its release. With 125 original recipes for every meal (plus snacks and desserts!), Dennis Prescott makes me want to dust off my favourite apron and get to work. The meals I’m most looking forward to trying?  Brioche Doughnuts and Fried Shoestring Onion Cheeseburgers. YUM.

 

Little Sister.jpg

Little Sister by Barbara Gowdy (On Sale 04/18/2017)

Thirty-four-year-old Rose runs a theatre with her mother, Fiona, who is in the early stages of dementia. In her poor health, Fiona references her daughter Ava, whose accidental death has haunted their family for years. Terrible storms rip through their city, and Rose started to have intense, real-seeming dreams about living another woman’s life.  She is determined to figure out how these storms are affecting her, and to help the other woman survive, all while reliving Ava’s accident. This story of women’s relationships by the award-winning Barbara Gowdy will not disappoint.

 

The Best of Adam Sharp.jpg

The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion (On Sale 04/11/2017)

From the bestselling author of The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect comes a remarkable novel about music and love, and how the two intertwine. Adam Sharp is nearly fifty, and in true midlife crisis spirit, he is fixated on The One That Got Away. While he’s perfectly content with his partner, Claire, he can’t stop thinking about Angelina – his former bandmate, his first love, and his first heartbreak. Mysteriously, Angelina gets in touch with him, and Adam starts to think that it could be fate.  But, he asks himself, is it worth the risk? Graeme Simsion’s musical novel is one of many ups and downs, and I can’t wait to tag along for the ride!

 

Mississippi Blood.jpg

Mississippi Blood by Greg Iles (On Sale 03/21/2017)

Penn Cage fans, rejoice: the conclusion of Greg Iles’ trilogy has arrived!  This thriller finds Penn’s world crumbling around him. Penn’s father, Tom, is about to be tried for murder, and it seems he would rather die in prison than admit the truth of his crime to his son, the prosecutor. Penn tries desperately to keep his family – and his job – intact, but his efforts may not be enough. I have been meaning to read this series for a long time, and now that the conclusion is here, I have no excuse but to start! (And possibly marathon them).

 

Borne.png

Borne by Jeff VanderMeer (On Sale 04/25/2017)

Jeff VanderMeer’s new dystopian novel follows Rachel, a scavenger, and her unusual discovery. She unearths a lump that she assumes is discard from the experimental biotech firm, the Company. She names it Borne and saves its life, convincing Wick not to turn it into genetic material for the drugs he deals. Rachel becomes attached to Borne and the two of them discover something deep within the Company that will change history.  VanderMeer is an amazingly successful sci-fi writer, and his new novel will delight fans of Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake.

 

Miss You.jpg

Miss You by Kate Eberlen (On Sale 04/04/2017)

Fans of One Day by David Nicholls will love this story about fate, love, and taking chances. Tess is on vacation, soaking up her freedom in Florence before starting university in London. Gus and his family are in Florence, too, trying to rebuild their family in the face of a recent tragedy.  Both eighteen, Tess and Gus have their whole lives ahead of them, and their paths will cross numerous times over the next sixteen years. Defying all odds, Tess and Gus test fate and try realign their stars.

 

Goodnight From London.jpg

Goodnight from London by Jennifer Robson (On Sale 05/02/2017)

Jennifer Robson is back with another knockout historical fiction novel! Ruby Sutton is an American journalist who moves to London to report on WWII. She has another motivation to move overseas: to escape her past and start a new life. Ruby is relatively well-received in Britain, though some of her colleagues are quick to remind her that she is both a foreigner and a woman. Bombs fall and Ruby loses everything, having to rely on the kindness of strangers to keep her safe. I love historical fiction, and I especially love historical fiction centred around strong, bad@$$ women.

 

Too Much and Not the Mood.jpg

Too Much and Not the Mood by Durga Chew-Bose (On Sale 04/11/2017)

First of all, this cover!!! Very postmodern and very Douglas Coupland-esque. Truly a fitting cover for Durga Chew-Bose’s insightful, honest novel. A mix of essays, poetry, and her own reflections, this book urges readers to search for a clearer understanding of their identity and culture, and of the world we live in. Durga Chew-Bose has been compared to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Zadie Smith – two amazing feminist icons – and has bumped her way up to the top of my TBR list. This is a must-read. I repeat, READ. 

Make some room on your shelves for these great new releases!

Which #SavvySpring reads are you looking forward to the most?  Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader.

Happy reading,

Danielle
Follow me on Twitter @danielle10_06

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Spring Releases We Can’t Wait For

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s