If You Like Gilmore Girls, You Should Read…

Savvy Readers!!!

The Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life premiers THIS FRIDAY November 25, 2016 on Netflix. If you can find something more exciting that’s happening this week, I’ll be impressed. As we all know, Rory + Books = ❤️. And knowing that a lot of you Savvy Readers are also Gilmore Gurus, we’ve come up with the perfect book and Gilmore Girl pairings (so that you have something to do—other than cry—once you’ve binged all four episodes).

enhanced-18846-1395534417-2

Oh, and don’t forget that Christmas is just around the corner… Imagine receiving a basket full of Gilmore Girl reads for Christmas?! *Faints*

Happy People Read and Drink Coffee by Agnes Martin-Lugand

Because… Coffee. Diane is the owner of Happy People Read and Drink Coffee, a cozy literary cafe in Paris. If that doesn’t sound like Rory and Lorelai, I don’t know what does. This story is heartbreaking and uplifting all at once—much like the Gilmore life. Buy it now!

(Side note: Does an episode go by where they don’t mention coffee?)

 

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Second to coffee, food. Or both, coffee and food. Either way, Becky Albertalli‘s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda makes an excellent case for food, snacks, oreos… And you can easily finish this great book in one sitting, as long as you have all of the right snacks by your side, of course. The Gilmore Girls would definitely approve. Buy it now!

 

Rich and Pretty by Rumaan Alam

In Rich and Pretty, the relationship between two best friends changes when they are no longer coming of age but rather learning how to live adult lives… Remind you of anyone? Buy it now!

 

The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

Get ready to escape the world with this warm, funny, and accurate family drama. If you miss Richard and Emily (which we all know is about to get a LOT worse), you’ll love reading about the Plumb family and the fate of their shared inheritance, otherwise known as “The Nest”. Buy it now!

 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Not only does Rory (and Jess!) make mention of To Kill a Mockingbird, but the small town of Maycomb County also kind of reminds me of Stars Hollow. Regular town meetings, anyone? Oh, and we’re pretty sure Rory’s read Go Set A Watchman by now, too. Buy it now!

 

The Art of Crash Landing by Melissa DeCarlo

This fictional story is hilarious, gripping, and unexpectedly wise—four words that sum up the Gilmore Girls perfectly. Mattie Wallace travels to her mother’s hometown where she gets news of a possible inheritance left by her grandmother (Richard and Emily paid for Rory’s tuition, and that’s basically the same thing). Buy it now!

 

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

For the YA readers, Dumplin’ is pretty much the perfect pairing with Gilmore Girls. The humour, the attitude, the relationships (AKA the boys), the family drama, the friends… It’s just perfect. Dumplin is guaranteed to steal your heart. Need I say more? Buy it now!

 

40 Things I Want to Tell You by Alice Kuipers

Amy has loving parents, a (hot) boyfriend, the best friend ever, and she writes an advice column. Amy gets distracted by the new boy at school, Pete, and though she knows he’s trouble, she can’t stay away. Wait.. Did I say Amy or Rory? Anyways, if you’re into the Dean vs. Logan vs. Jess aspect of Gilmore Girls, you’ll be head over heels for this one. Buy it now!

 

A Night In With Audrey Hepburn by Lucy Holliday

The first book in Lucy Holliday’s A Night In With series features Aubrey Hepburn. Libby Lomax is gobsmacked to find screen icon Audrey Hepburn sitting beside her, offering advice. Imagine!?! I love the Gilmore Girls scene where Miss Celine (Emily’s personal stylist, remember?) tells Rory that she looks like Audrey Hepburn… And Richard agrees… and then Emily says “But even prettier.” Ugh. The love they have for Rory. These books are hilarious, heartwarming, and perfect for a girl’s night in. Buy it now!

 

Settle for More by Megyn Kelly

“Whether it’s asking tough questions during a presidential debate or pressing for answers to today’s most important issues, Megyn Kelly [ahem, Rory Gilmore] has demonstrated the intelligence, strength, common sense, and courage that have made her one of today’s best-known journalists”. If you’re an aspiring journalist, take it from Rory (or Megyn) and be passionate about what you do. Buy it now!

 

Though I could go on about books and Gilmore Girls forever (literally two of my most favourite things), that’s it for now, Savvy Readers. Which book is going on the top of your TBR pile first? Tell me on Twitter @SavvyReader or in the comments below!

gilmore-gif-1445291168

Happy reading (and Gilmore-binging too, of course!).

Ashley

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader and @ashleyposluns

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “If You Like Gilmore Girls, You Should Read…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s