What We’re Reading This Month: November

Hi Savvy Readers, and welcome to November… a dreary month of darkness, cold weather, lots of rain. Of course, we all know what that means—time to get cozy and read! Here’s what we’re getting cozy with this month!

giphy.gif

 

y648.png

Karen is reading A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig.

Nothing gets me more excited for Christmas than a pine-scented candle, hot apple cider, and a festive Christmas read. This month I’m feeling all the holiday cheer with Matt Haig‘s delightful new novel A Boy Called Christmas. If you’re looking for a bit of magic and whimsy this month, I’d definitely recommend it! (Psst, watch Matt Haig talk about the book during his #HCCLive session here.)

Melissa (and her kids) are also reading A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig.

I know it seems a bit early but me and my kids are reading A Boy Called Christmas, a magical classic-to-be about ‘Father Christmas’ or ‘SANTA!’ (as he is best known). This book has everything you could hope for in a holiday read.

 

y648-1.png

Meghan is reading The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen.

I have been waiting to read The Fate of The Tearling ever since I read the second book in the series, The Invasion of The Tearling, when it first came out. This book did not disappoint! It is so action-packed that I could not put it down – and when I wasn’t reading it, I was still thinking about it. Kelsea is such a great main character and the way that Erika wrapped everything up made the ending so real and satisfying. This book is in stores November 29th, so keep your eyes peeled! 

y648-2.png

Montana is reading The Perfect Girl by Gilly MacMillan

I am currently reading The Perfect Girl—the suspense is killing me—and I’m loving it. Even though I want to know what happened in the past to Zoe and I want to know what happened now to her mother, I’m enjoying the artful and slow process in which Gilly Macmillan reveals all the details. This novel is perfect for fans of Jane Shemilt’s Daughter and Kimberly Mccreight’s Reconstructing Amelia.

y648-3.png

Ashley is reading Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Commonwealth definitely makes one of my top favourite books of the year. Ann Patchett is just SO clever, and the story she has written is so interesting.  It is just SO GOOD. I know that’s all super vague, but I don’t want to give anything away… so just read it (and then tell me what you think @SavvyReader!).

y648-4.png

Laura is reading Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige

Let me tell you, I LOVE these books. As you might expect from the series title, the book takes place in Oz (as in The Wonderful Wizard of…) where Dorothy Gale has become a tyrant. It is up to Amy Gumm (also from Kansas) and the Order of the Wicked to stop her. If you love fractured fairytales and/or strong female characters, I highly recommend this series!

So Savvy Readers, did any of our reads inspire you? What’s on your TBR? Tell us in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading!

Ashley

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader & @ashleyposluns

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s