What We’re Reading This Month

Can you believe it’s already October?? That means there’s only 76 days until Christmas! (I’m not the only one counting down – right?) But winter is still a ways away, so to help pass the time we’ve all been reading some amazing books that have come out this season!

Here are the books that the Savvy team is reading this month!

nocturnalanimals

Jessica is reading Nocturnal Animals by Austin Wright

I’m reading Nocturnal Animals (previously titled Tony and Susan) by Austin Wright which the soon-to-be hit movie is based on (coming to theaters near you in November!) This story is so insanely compelling I read over 200 pages in a single sitting and stayed up wayyyyyy past my bedtime. There are so many crazy twists that it’s actually shocking the ways in which the story goes. I highly recommend it if you’re a fan of The Girl on the Train or The Silent Wife.

 

wangs

Montana is reading Wangs vs. The World by Jade Chang

What first pulled me to read The Wangs vs the World was the beautiful and intricate cover art (I would later find out that the Wang family is very reflective of this). Jade Chang’s characters are so real and so FLAWED that I fell in love instantly with them. I cannot wait to see where their journey ends, because right now I cannot help but laugh at how they are dealing with being poor. I recommend for fans of Crazy Rich Asians or the hit television show Fresh off the Boat.

 

based-on-a-true-story

Kaiti is reading Based on a True Story by Norm MacDonald

I’m reading Based On a True Story by Norm MacDonald this month because my friend* called it both a genius piece of art and a comedic masterpiece. He insisted I read it. A few other friends** have recommended it too, including Adam Sandler, Louis C.K., Amy Schumer, Judd Apatow and Alec Baldwin.

*This friend is also my boss, so technically I have to listen to him.

**These are not exactly my friends, but I’ve seen both Amy Schumer and Judd Apatow at a stand up comedy car ON SEPARATE NIGHTS so we’re halfway there.

 

news-of-the-world

Ashley is reading News of the World by Paulette Jiles

This story is incredibly touching – and you wouldn’t think so when you first start reading it. Captain Kidd, an elderly man whose job is to give live readings of the news of the world to paying audiences, is offered money to deliver a young orphan, Johanna, to her relatives. Their 400-mile journey through Texas in the 1870s is difficult and dangerous. But it also helps the two forge a (unbreakable?) bond. This book will quickly transport you to a different time and place. If you’re looking for a getaway, you can find it here.

 

theescapist

Catherine is reading The Escapist by Gabriel Filippi

The Escapist is that rare true story that is more intimate, more gripping, and more unbelievable than any fictionalized account could be. From the deadliest disaster in Everest’s history to a shocking Taliban attack on a Pakistan mountainside, this incredible Canadian mountaineer has survived again and again. What is it that compels him to keep climbing, knowing he’ll be facing death every single time? I dare you to try and put this book down after reading the first chapter. (And to not immediately click over to his Discovery Channel series as soon as you’ve finished the last!)

 

commonwealth

Rya is reading Commonwealth by Ann Patchet

The buzz around the office for Commonwealth has been huge, and every day I hear people say how much they loved it! I knew I had to pick it up immediately for this month, and am not disappointed. So far, I’m mad at some characters, love some others, and am so worried for a few! I can’t wait to see how this story unfolds!

 

the-queen-of-blood

Meghan is reading The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst

I’m reading The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst, her debut adult fantasy novel. I could not put this down and fell instantly in love with the characters. Durst made everything so realistic and believable; I felt like I was actually in Renthia! The end has a great twist and made me love it even more. I can’t wait for the next two books in the series. I highly recommend for fans of The Queen of the Tearling and Red Queen.

 

What are you reading this month? Tell us on Twitter @SavvyReader or in the comments below!

Follow me on Twitter @Kirkyland

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s