Savvy Gift Guide: Top 10 Books for Bookworms

Hey, Savvy Readers! So, last week we figured out what to get the chef in your family for Christmas, but what about the bookworms? We can’t forget about them! So, to all the wonderful bookworms of the world, I give you the top 10 books to gift (or ask Santa for) this holiday!

For Bookworms - All

The Illegal by Lawrence Hill

From the bestselling author of The Book of Negroes comes Lawrence Hill’s highly anticipated novel (and rightfully so!), The Illegal. In this book we are woven into the story of Keita Ali, who is on the run. In one of the poorest nations in the world, running means respect but for Keita it means so much more; he is running for his family’s survival. In the very nature of the book, you will be running through these pages all winter break long.

After Alice by Gregory Maguire

Gregory Maguire is back at it again, from the bestselling author of Wicked comes a magical, fantastical, new twist on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. After Alice will have you feeling worlds away from the cozy spot you’ve chosen to cuddle up with a good book this holiday season (down the rabbit hole and around the corner to a Wonderland you’ve never experienced before, to be exact).

Twitter

The Golden Son by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

From the wonderful, and talented, author of Secret Daughter comes an inspiring and moving new novel of a young man at the crossroads of life. You’ll be swept away and inspired by Anil and Leena’s strength, ambition, and determination to succeed – you’ll be rooting for them from the very first page.

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom

A remarkable, magical, and inspiring work of fiction that displays Mitch Albom’s true love for music; The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto is a beautiful fantastical story that reveals the true power of music as we glimpse into the lives that were changed by one man whose strings could touch the music—and the magic—in each of us. Most definitely, without a doubt, the perfect book to gift to the music lover in your life.

When the Moon is Low by Nadia Hashimi

From the acclaimed author of The Pearl That Broke Its Shell comes this unforgettable novel of an Afghan family’s escape from the Taliban and perilous trek across Europe to seek asylum, led by one extraordinarily courageous woman. The perfect book to inspire the feeling of hope and gratitude this holiday season.

Harriet Chance

This is Your Life, Harriet Chance! By Jonathan Evison

Jonathan Evison—bestselling author of West of Here, The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving and All About Lulu—has crafted a big-hearted novel with a supremely endearing heroine at its centre. A book of acceptance, forgiveness, and truth, This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance! is a book that speaks to everyone, and would make a wonderful gift for anyone you choose from Santa’s list this Christmas.

Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight

From the wonderfully talented author of the New York Times bestseller, Reconstructing Amelia, comes a gripping novel of domestic suspense. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Gillian Flynn will be pleasantly surprised at how well McCreight pulls the reader into the story. You won’t be able to put this one down until you’ve solved the mystery – even if Santa is on your rooftop.

The Art of Crash Landing by Melissa DeCarlo

The Art of Crash Landing had me intrigued from the moment I opened it. From a new voice comes a debut novel of a young woman who visits her mother’s hometown for the first time and gets caught up in a mystery that changed her family forever. Lose yourself this holiday in Mattie’s search for answers and follow her down the road of self-discovery.

For Bookworms - The Searcher - Twitter

Golden Lion by Wilbur Smith and Giles Kristian

Wilbur Smith returns with a sequel to his action-packed novel Birds of Prey with this exciting new book, Golden Lion. Series really do make the best gifts because they’re the gift that keeps on giving every time a new adventure is released. So, this Christmas give someone a series of adventures that they won’t be able to get enough of!

The Searcher by Simon Tyone

This suspenseful thriller is the perfect gift to give to the bookworm in your family this holiday season. From the very moment you open this book you’ll be asking who is the stranger, what memories has he lost, and will he ever find what he is searching for? The first in a new series from the author of the Sanctus trilogy, you won’t want to miss this.

Thanks for joining me, Savvy Readers! I hope you find yourself this holiday season fireside with a cup of tea on a great adventure between the pages. I know that’s where I’ll be!

Sabrina

Follow me on Twitter @sabrinagroomes.

Advertisements

Posted by

Graduated English Major, book lover, tea drinker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s