Top 10 Hallowe’en Reads for Gals, Guys, and Ghouls

Attention, guys, girls and ghouls — Hallowe’en is less than a week away, and we are SO excited. In addition to dressing up and treating ourselves to delicious candies, Hallowe’en is the best time to dive into some spooky, unsettling reads. So, we’ve decided to share some of our favourite books for the scariest time of the year!

1. Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

Welcome to Night Vale is this week’s 50 Book Pledge Featured Read, and is based off of the WILDLY popular podcast of the same name. Located in a nameless desert somewhere in the great American Southwest, Night Vale is a small town where ghosts, angels, aliens, and government conspiracies are all commonplace parts of everyday life. Despite the podcast’s large and dedicated following, the book stands on its own and has garnered attention from The New York Times, NPR and more.

2. The Nest by Kenneth Oppel 

The Nest is bestselling author Kenneth Oppel‘s most haunting novel yet — a brisk, dark fable in which a young boy unwittingly invites malevolent forces into his home and family. It stands alongside books like Neil Gaiman’s Coraline as contemporary horror that, though written for the middle-age group, will scare and delight readers of all ages. Click here to read our review and watch the trailer.

Nest_Youtube_img

3. Seveneves by Neal Stephenson

From Neal Stephenson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Anathem, Reamde, and Cryptonomicon comes Seveneves, an exciting and thought-provoking science fiction epic that asks the question: what would happen if the world were ending?

Take my friend’s word for it: It’s scary.

MH

4. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven was listed on countless “Best Book of the Year’ lists last winter, and has just recently won the Toronto Book Award. It is, undoubtedly, worthy of such praises and accolades. It is a dystopian novel that follows a band of musicians and actors who travel the deserted United States performing Shakespeare plays because — quite simply — mere survival is insufficient. Its premise may leave you unsettled, but its writing will leave you breathless.

Station Eleven - Twitter

5. After Alice by Gregory Maguire 

From the multi-million-copy bestselling author of Wicked comes a magical new twist on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland that celebrates the 150th anniversary of Lewis’s Carol’s classic. Like Wicked, Maguire takes a darker look at the classic tale, and follows Alice’s friend Ada as she tumbles down the rabbit-hole after Alice.

6. A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Nothing screams spooky Halloween read more than gothic historical thrillers! A Madness So Discreet centers around Grace, a resident in an insane asylum with a dark family secret. When Grace is recruited by a doctor to help him investigate crime scenes, her shaky sanity and the demons in her past come dangerously close to the surface.This gripping story is filled with murder, madness, and mystery — perfect for fans of Asylum and The Diviners.

7. NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

If you’re looking for a spine-tingling read, look no further than NOS4A2 by New York Times bestseller Joe Hill. When Charles Talent Manx — a man who takes children for rides and transports them to a terrifying playground of amusements he calls “Christmasland” — can’t stop thinking about the girl who got away from him, he goes on the road again… to find her son. We’re re-reading NOS4A2 in preparation for Joe Hill‘s upcoming book The Fireman, out Spring 2016!

8. Doctor Who: Impossible Worlds and Harry Potter: Character Vault

Still coming up with Hallowe’en costume ideas? Doctor Who: Impossible Worlds and Harry Potter: The Character Vault are sure to provide endless inspiration. With never-before-seen photos and sketches, these gorgeous collectors’ items will help you take your Hallowe’en look to the next level.

Twitter - Set Up 2

9. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Who says Hallowe’en reads have to be strictly spooky? In a world full of supernatural events and mysterious blue lights, Patrick Ness chooses to focus on the ordinary in The Rest of Just Live Here, proving that everyone has a story that deserves to be told.

10. The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford

You may remember The Pocket Wife from our list of 5 (more) books to read if you loved Gone Girl, but this psychological thriller deserves its own mention here for its masterful weaving of marriage, murder, and madness. Featuring a woman who cannot remember if she’s murdered her friend, The Pocket Wife is the perfect Hallowe’en read for fans of Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train. Psst, can’t get enough of Susan Crawford? Look out for her newest book, The Other Widow, in Spring 2016!

What are you planning on reading this Hallowe’en season? Let us know on Twitter @SavvyReader or in the comments below!

Happy Hallowe’en, Savvy Readers!

Kaiti and Karen

Follow us on Twitter @SavvyReader, @ktvncnt, and @karenfma.

Advertisements

Posted by

Digital Marketing Coordinator at HarperCollins Canada. Film, fiction and fashion blog enthusiast. Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt.

One thought on “Top 10 Hallowe’en Reads for Gals, Guys, and Ghouls

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s