Top 10 Audiobooks to Listen To!

Looking for your next read? Why not try it as an audiobook? Below, we share our top 10 audiobooks to listen to whether you’re a seasoned audiobook listener or are looking to try it out for the first time.

I Must Say: My Life As a Humble Comedy Legend by Martin Short

From the guy who brought us iconic comedy characters such as Ed Grimley and Jiminy Glick comes I Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy Legend. In this hilarious yet sometimes heartbreaking memoir, Martin Short takes readers through the highs and lows of his comedy career and personal life. Read our review of the book here.

Why you should listen to the audiobook: The voices! Martin Short is known for his impressions, and his stories and characters really come to life as he narrates (and sings) to you.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

If you haven’t read (or listened to) Graeme Simsion’s bestselling novel The Rosie Project yet, I’d recommend stopping everything you’re doing now and picking it up. In this moving and entertaining novel, the regimented Don Tillman sets out to find the perfect partner only to realize that the person he’s looking for cannot be confined by a checklist. (Fun fact: Jennifer Lawrence has already signed on to play Rosie in the movie adaptation!)

Why you should listen to the audiobook: It’s like a romantic comedy for your ears!

Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

Princess Mia is back, and her adult life is just as entertaining as her teenage years. If you loved the Princess Diaries series, you won’t want to miss Royal Wedding! In this newest installment in the series, Princess Mia has to avoid the invasive paparazzi and contend with her grandmother’s wild ideas, all while planning her dream wedding.

Why you should listen to the audiobook: Royal Wedding has the perfect mix of drama and humour. Plus, why wouldn’t you want to hear someone’s diary read to you out loud?

GSAW-q

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

Go Set a Watchman’s release was arguably one of the biggest publishing events of the year, and if you haven’t read the newly discovered work by Harper Lee, I’d recommend it! In Go Set a Watchman, Scout is now an adult returning home from New York City to visit her aging father Atticus.

Why you should listen to the audiobook: Reese Witherspoon is a talented narrator. Her reading voice is soothing with a hint of a southern accent, transporting you to the famous Maycomb County.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

It’s no secret that we love Amy Poehler, and reading Yes Please has only made us love her even more. In this memoir, Poehler talks candidly about her road to fame, opens up about her personal life, and shares some amazing life advice. Can we be best friends already?

Why you should listen to the audiobook: Not only does Poehler narrate the book, she also invites her famous friends Seth Meyers, Patrick Stewart, and more to read parts of it. It’s a big dinner party and we’re all invited!

Everything is Perfect When You’re a Liar by Kelly Oxford

Kelly Oxford is one of my favourite comedians on Twitter, so you can imagine my excitement when her memoir Everything is Perfect When You’re a Liar came out. There is no shortage of Oxford’s signature humour in this book, and it kept me chuckling and laughing the whole time. Did I mention she’s also Canadian? Read our full review here!

Why you should listen to the audiobook: Oxford narrates her hilarious stories in the audiobook, which makes them even more entertaining. Reading about her stalking Leonardo DiCaprio and throwing up on a Chinese food delivery guy just isn’t the same as hearing about it.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

If I could have one celebrity as my best friend, I think I would choose Mindy Kaling (followed closely by Amy Poehler). Fans of The Office and The Mindy Project will love this entertaining memoir filled with laugh-out-loud moments and relatable observations.

Why you should listen to the audiobook: Two words: Mindy. Kaling. (But seriously, Kaling is hilarious and there’s no one else who could read her story better than she could.)

 

Disclaimer by Renee Knight

This is an audiobook to keep you up at night! Disclaimer is a brilliantly conceived, deeply unsettling psychological thriller about a woman who finds a mysterious fictitious novel that recreates in vivid, unmistakable detail the terrible day she became hostage to a dark secret, a secret that only one other person knew – and that person is dead.

Why you should listen to the audiobook: As if it wasn’t already thrilling enough, hearing the book read out loud only makes it more exhilarating.

Down the Rabbit Hole: Curious Adventures and Cautionary Tales of a Former Playboy Bunny by Holly Madison

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to date Hugh Hefner and live in the Playboy Mansion? Wonder no more! Holly Madison, former Playboy Bunny, tells all in her autobiography about her experiences during and after Playboy.

Why you should listen to the audiobook: Madison narrates the audiobook, which makes all the juicy gossip even juicier.

Out of Orange by Cleary Wolters

Can’t get enough of Orange is the New Black? Cleary Wolters, the inspiration for Alex Vause, Piper Kerman’s ex-girlfriend, friend, and sometimes-romantic partner on the show tells her side of the story in her memoir Out of Orange.

Why you should listen to the audiobook: Barbara Rosenblat is a fantastic narrator, and it’s just the thing to tide us over before the next season comes out.

Did I leave out any of your favourite audiobooks? Tell us on Twitter @SavvyReader or in the comments below!

Karen

Follow me on Twitter @karenfma.

Advertisements

Posted by

Graduated English Major, book lover, tea drinker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s