9 Books to Read if You Love Game of Thrones

Already going through Game of Thrones withdrawal? I know I am, especially after the epic season finale that aired last night! I could say more (I’ve been talking about it with Kaiti and Suman all morning) but I don’t want to spoil anything for readers who have yet to watch it. But I will say that, as per previous seasons, George R. R. Martin and the show’s creators have left us on our toes and feeling very… Well… Drogon.

drogon.0

If you, like me, are anxious about last night’s finale, these 9 books will help:

1. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen is a gripping story that follows the young Queen Kelsea as she tries to reclaim her throne and her kingdom. Queen Kelsea is a badass who stands by her morals. Plus, Emma Watson has signed on to play Khaleesi, I mean Kelsea, in the movie, so this is definitely a great series to follow.

2. Which brings us to #2, The Invasion of the Tearling, Erika Johansen‘s follow up to The Queen of the Tearling and the second book in this dazzling trilogy. Here, Kelsea must defend her kingdom against the evil Red Queen and her army.

3. The Iron King by Maurice Druon. George R.R. Martin read The Accursed Kings series prior to writing A Song Of Ice and Fire–the novels were originally published in France in the 1950s–and calls it “the original Game of Thrones“. Find out more about Book 1, The Iron King, here.

4. The seventh book in The Accursed Kings series, The King Without a Kingdom, was finally translated into English for the first time this year. Here, Druon follow the escalation of the Hundred Years War.

Station Eleven_Martin_quote

5. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.Station Eleven is a post-apocalyptic world where a Traveling Symphony performs Shakespeareto survivors. Plus, George R.R. Martin is a huge fan of this book, calling it “A deeply melancholy novel… A book that I will long remember, and return to.”

6. Against a Darkening Sky by Lauren B. Davis. From the author of the acclaimed Our Daily Bread and The Empty Room comes a rich and fascinating new novel of mysterious, magic-riddled 7th-century England in which a young woman is torn between her deepest beliefs and her desire to belong in a changing world.

7. The Pagan Lord by Bernard Cornwell. Historical fiction fans, we highly recommend you read any book by Bernard Cornwell, especially if you don’t hide your eyes at the violent scenes in Game of Thrones. Of The Saxon Stories, GRRM says the novels have “the best battle scenes of any writer I’ve ever read, past or present.”

8. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is a gripping YA novel about a kingdom divided by blood, and the one girl that’s about to change everything. (Plus, there are rumours that Elizabeth Banks may direct the movie!).

9. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. Here, debut author Raasch weaves the story of the Winter, a kingdom enslaved and left without a monarch or magic. Their only hope lies in the eight survivors that managed to escape, and are waiting for the right moment to return and take back the kingdom. YA fans, be sure to check this one out.

Have more recommendations? Tweet them to us at @SavvyReader, and don’t forget to add these 9 books to your 50 Book Pledge TBR shelf!

Shannon

Follow me on Twitter @shanparsons & @HarperCollinsCA.

Advertisements

One thought on “9 Books to Read if You Love Game of Thrones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s