10 Books For Dad This Father’s Day!

Father’s Day is just around the corner, and it’s time to find a gift for Dad. As a reader, there’s nothing I love more than finding the perfect book to share with my parents for Mother’s and Father’s Day. And since my Dad is a fan of both Game of Thrones and Matt Damon, he was pretty easy to shop for this year.

If you’re still looking for ideas, fear not! I’ve shared 10 (okay, more like 12) books that your dad, husband, or grandfather will love below.

1. Measure Twice by Bryan Baeumler 

Bryan Baeumler, HGTV‘s DIY-excerpt and star of House of Bryan, Disaster DIY, Canada’s Handyman Challenge and Leave It to Bryan, has a passion for building, and for getting the details right. His book Measure Twice  is a fully illustrated, step-by-step guide to all of the most common DIY fixes, upgrades, renovations and installations and is great for the handy (or not-so-handy) man in your life. Visit HarperCollinsCanada on Facebook to enter to win the Ultimate Dad Prize Pack, including a signed copy of Measure Twice and gifts from Lowe’s Canada, Dewalt and Dickies Clothing.

2. Elon Musk by Ashlee Vance 

Was the last book your Dad read Steve Jobs? If so, Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future by Ashlee Vance should be next on his list. This authorized biography is a firsthand look at the extraordinary life of one of Silicon Valley’s most exciting, unpredictable, and ambitious entrepreneurs and “the real-life Tony Stark”. Vance’s book is perfect for anyone interested in technology and innovation (plus, there’s a chapter about Elon’s time in Canada–he’s half Canadian–and his years spent at Queen’s University. Cha-ghèill!)

3. Losing the Signal by Jacquie Mcnish and Sean Silcoff

In Losing The Signal: The Spectacular Rise and Fall of BlackberryJacquie Mcnish and Sean Silcoff look at the riveting, never-before-told story of one of the most spectacular technological upsets of the 21st century: Blackberry. A little more than a decade after Research In Motion introduced the BlackBerry, it is now struggling to survive. Through its demise, Losing The Signal demonstrates just how aggressive, fast and unforgiving today’s global business market can be.

4. The Iron King by Maurice Druon

Is your Dad as big of a Game of Thrones fan as mine? My dad raced through the series on his Kobo and even worked from home (read: worked from his laptop in front of the TV) to catch up on the recent season on HBO On Demand. So, okay, even if he isn’t as big of a fan as my Dad, I highly recommend getting him hooked on the The Accursed King series by Maurice Druon. George R.R. Martin read the series prior to writing A Song Of Ice and Fire–the novels were originally published in France in the 1950s–and credits it as inspiration for his bestselling series. He even wrote the forward in the new edition of the first book, The Iron King!

5. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

If you’re looking for more books inspired by GRRM, look no further than Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, and I’ll tell you why in one very longwinded sentence. Deeep breath. Okay. In addition to topping over 16 “Best of 2014” lists, including those by Times and The Globe and Mail (among many others), and being shortlisted for the Bailey’s Prize for Fiction and the PEN/Faulkner Award (among many others), it has also been highly recommended by Martin, who called it “a deeply melancholy novel, but beautifully written, and wonderfully elegiac … a book that I will long remember, and return to.”

6. The Bone Tree by Greg Iles

In The Bone Tree, Greg Iles continues the electrifying story he began in his smashing New York Times bestseller Natchez Burning with this highly anticipated second volume in an epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice. Highly recommended for fans of James Patterson, Dan Brown and John Grisham.

7. The Martian by Andy Weir

In The Martian, astronaut Mark Watney is one of the first people to walk on Mars. But after a dust storm forces his crew to evacuate without him, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. But Mark isn’t ready to give up and draws on his ingenuity, his engineering skills and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit to confront one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. I’ll be buying this for my Dad this year and pairing it with a gift card to Cineplex: the film adaptation starring Matt Damon will be out in November!

8. Seveneves by Neal Stephenson

In Seveneves, Neal Stephenson combines science, philosophy, technology, psychology, and literature in a magnificent work of speculative fiction that asks the question: What would happen if the world were ending?. Spanning 5,000 years (and 1,000 pages) Seveneves will keep your Dad preoccupied at the cottage all summer.

9. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

It’s likely been a few years since your father or husband read To Kill a Mockingbird, and there’s no better time than this Father’s Day to share the beloved novel with your Dad (and no, not because Atticus Finch is one of the best fathers in literature). This year, you’ll be able to share this classic Pulizer prize-winner with your Dad and  pre-order its sequel, Go Set a Watchman. It’s the literary event of the decade so don’t let Dad miss out!

10. Why I Love My Daddy and Why I Love My Grandpa 

If you’re looking for something adorable and nostalgic, or you’re buying for a young reader, look no further than the adorable “Why I Love” board books by Daniel Howarth. Written using quotes from children around the world, Why I Love shares the sentimental moments that children share with their Dads and Grandpas.

Hopefully we’ve helped with your Father’s Day shopping woes, readers! Tell us what you’re going to share with a man in your life on the 21st in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader. And don’t forget to enter to win HarperCollinsCanada‘s Ultimate Dad Prize Pack here!

Kaiti

Follow me on Twitter @ktvncnt and @SavvyReader.

Advertisements

Posted by

Digital Marketing Coordinator at HarperCollins Canada. Film, fiction and fashion blog enthusiast. Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s