5 (More) Books to Read If You Loved Gone Girl

Last year, we shared a list of 5 Books to Read If You Loved Gone Girl. Now, thanks to both the success of David Fincher’s film adaptation and the other novels on the list (including Reconstructing Amelia and After I’m Gone) the domestic noir genre has only grown. Within the past year, we have been introduced to even more thrilling stories (with narrators even more unreliable than Amy Dunne — as if we thought that was possible!).

This genre challenges the typical women’s fiction perspective, allowing heroines to become anti-heroes and turning the typical suburban experience into something dark and ruthless. If you, like us, love the ferocious page-turning that comes with these insatiable novels, and the unease that comes with reading a story from a voice you can’t quite trust, be sure to pick of one of these five novels below.

1. Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight

9780062225481

Like Kimberly McCreight‘s bestselling debut novel Reconstructing Amelia, Where They Found Her starts with a tragedy: the body of an infant is found in the woods of an idyllic small town. No one knows the identity of the baby, what ended her very short life, or how she came to be found among the fallen leaves. But for the residents of Ridgedale, there is no shortage of opinions. And thus begins the search for those responsible.

Where They Found Her is this week’s #50BookPldege Featured Read! Add it to your To Be Read shelf now.

2. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

22557272

The Girl on the Train is a compulsively readable Hitchcockian tale that follows a woman who, on her daily commute, absentmindedly fantasizes about a couple she sees. Until, suddenly, she witnesses something she cannot soon forget.

3. The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford

9780062390691

The Pocket Wife is a stylish (and I mean stylish — don’t you love that cover!?) story about marriage, murder and madness. In it, our protagonist Dana was the last person to see her friend and neighbor Celia alive. But a combination of the sangria Celia and Dana were enjoying that afternoon, plus the strange circumstances of Celia’s death, leaves Dana uncertain of her involvement. As Dana tries to piece together the truth, the more she begins to lose herself to her mental instabilities.

Enter to win copies of The Pocket Wife for you and your book club from Girls’ Night Out Wines! Details here.

4. Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

9780062224101

Lauren Oliver‘s young adult novel Vanishing Girls is the teen equivalent to Gone Girl… but don’t be mistaken. This book is great for readers of all ages, as it has elements self-discovery, coming-of-age, sibling rivalry, first love, plus an intriguing mystery about a missing girl.

5. Second Life by S.J. Watson

9781443406338

Though Second Life doesn’t come out until June, we HAD to include it on the list. Before I Go To Sleep, S.J. Watson‘s first novel, was one of the first breakout bestsellers in the domestic noir genre, and he’s only bettered his craft. In Second Life, Watson tackles the world of online chatrooms and internet sex as one women’s search for the truth behind her late sister quickly turns into an exploration of herself and her own desires.

Pre-order Second Life from Indigo and receive an exclusive short story from S.J. Watson! Details.

Which books would you add to this list? Tell us on Twitter @SavvyReader or in the comments below!

Kaiti

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt

Advertisements

Posted by

Digital Marketing Coordinator at HarperCollins Canada. Film, fiction and fashion blog enthusiast. Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s