Frenzy’s Spring Must-Reads

Looking for something to read this Spring? We’ve got you covered, Savvy Readers! Here’s a list of eight upcoming YA books that we think you’ll love.


1. Dorothy Must Die 
by Danielle Paige (Available Now!)

One of this year’s most-anticipated reads, Oz has turned into a savage dystopia under Dorothy’s rule—and now a new girl from Kansas must take her down. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz meets Kill Bill in this edgy, fast-paced, fantasy-adventure. Click here to view the trailer!


2.
Great by Sara Benincasa (Available Now)

In this contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, Naomi Rye is being forced to spend the summer in East Hampton, the playground for New York’s wealthiest. She finds herself drawn to her reclusive neighbor, Jacinta, a fashion blogger who soon asks to be introduced to Delilah Fairweather, a beautiful socialite. Naomi soon learns that beneath the shimmering surface of her glamorous life, Jacinta is hiding a secret. And now she must decide how far she’s willing to be pulled into this web of lies and deception before she is unable to escape.

3.Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman (Available April 22)

Meticulously researched and hauntingly real, Prisoner of Night and Fog is the story of a girl forced to question everything she’s been taught to believe during the terror of Hitler’s regime during World War II. This debut novel has something for everyone: it will delight readers of historical fiction, as well as readers who love a good spy thriller—with a dash of swoony love story.

4. Tease by Amanda Maciel (Available April 29)
Emma Putnam is dead, and it’s all Sara Wharton’s fault. At least, that’s what everyone seems to think. Sara, along with her BFF, has been criminally charged for the bullying that led to Emma’s shocking suicide. Now Sara is the one who’s ostracized, already guilty according to her peers, the community, and the media. In this powerful debut novel, inspired by real-life events, Amanda Maciel weaves a narrative of high school life as complex and heartbreaking as it is familiar: a story of everyday jealousies and resentments, misunderstandings and desires.

5. After the End by Amy Plum (Available May 6)
World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness and have survived for the last thirty years. At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life. But when she leaves the boundaries for the very first time, she learns the horrifying truth: World War III never happened. Everything she’d ever been taught was a lie. Amy Plum follows up her internationally bestselling Die for Me series with this engrossing, fast-paced adventure.
6. Thirteen by Tom Hoyle (Available May 6)

Born at midnight in London, on the stroke of the new millennium, Adam is the target of a cult that believes boys born on this date must die before the end of their thirteenth year. Twelve boys have been killed so far. Their next target? Adam. A gripping thriller with fast-paced action, Thirteen is perfect for fans of Cherub and Gone.

7.The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes (Available May 20)

When Lainey gets dumped, she employs the tenets from The Art of War to get her boyfriend back…but is getting him back really what she wants? The Art of Lainey is fun contemporary fiction and a must read this spring. (We’re suuuuuper excited for this book. Team Lainey Forever!)


8.Guy in Real Life 
by Steve Brezenoff  (Available May 27)
From the acclaimed author of Brooklyn, Burning comes Guy in Real Life, an achingly real and profoundly moving love story about two Minnesota teens whose lives become intertwined through school, role-playing games, and a chance two-a.m. bike accident. This is a story of the roles we all play—at school, at home, online, and with our friends—and the one person who might be able to show us who we are underneath it all.

Have you added any of these to your TBR list? Let us know on on Twitter @HCCFrenzy! Visit us at hccfrenzy.ca for more information about upcoming YA reads.

Advertisements

Posted by

Digital Marketing Coordinator at HarperCollins Canada. Film, fiction and fashion blog enthusiast. Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s