What To Read After The 100-Year-Old Man!

So you’ve finished The 100-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson have you? Your sides hurt from laughing, breath is returning to normal and that slow darkness is coming over you as you don’t have anything else to read next that could possibly compare to what you have just experience. Me too! Don’t worry though here’s a great list of books that might help you move on and keep being a functional citizen of the world.

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
This quirky and hilarious novel features the adventures (and misadventures) of 5 heroes, all over 70 years of age, looking to stand up against the mis-treatment of old aged pensioners everywhere. And that doesn’t even begin to cover it. The story also includes, a plan to go to prison, a robbery attempt, visits from the Mafia and a never ending police chase. This book has sold over a million copies worldwide and has become an international sensation. When asked the question “What do you hope readers will take away from reading about Martha and the gang?” Ingelman-Sundberg replied: “I want them to take care of the old, take care of each other, to remember human values and most of all to enjoy life.” Readers of all ages will absolutely love this book.

The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick
The newest novel from the bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook. Most of you already know Matthew Quick for the amazing film starring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, but this book is just another reason for people to become fans of his. Garth Stein, author of The Art of Racing in the Rain, calls it “Possibly the greatest feel-good misfit road story I’ve had the good luck to read.” “I loved this novel from its quirky and unconventional opening to its poignant, tear-inducing conclusion.” Says Wally Lamb, author of We Are Water. Those are 2 pretty good endorsements, which basically render anything else I have to say obsolete.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
Millions of copies sold all over the world. In the works to be a major motion picture. The Globe and Mail says “The Rosie Project joins ranks with the best romantic comedies of our age.” This is a classic screwball romance that proves that love is never an exact science. If you haven’t heard of this book yet, don’t worry, you still have time to get on board.

The Girl Who Saved The King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson
Naturally. The newest novel from Jonas Jonasson is on sale April 29 in Canada and really that’s all any fan of his needs to know. The book follows a girl from a South Africa shantytown that somehow finds herself involved in international politics that soon spiral out of control. Written in the trademark quirky Jonasson style this book will not disappoint.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is an extremely fast-paced, thrilling and very well plotted novel that focuses on the romance of the “old school” and a tech-free life. The book focuses on a mysterious bookstore with a secret hidden amongst all of the dusty pages. Combined with a strange Illuminati-like Fellowship and the deep dark realm that is Google, this is a fantastic and odd novel that will have you both laughing and on the edge of your seat.

I hope this has helped anyone who is stuck on what to read next. Just remember that there are always more great novels that are just waiting to be discovered. (You can usually find them here at The Savvy Reader)

Jason
Follow me on twitter @J_Pratt15

Advertisements

Posted by

Digital Marketing Coordinator at HarperCollins Canada. Film, fiction and fashion blog enthusiast. Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s