5 Books to Read If You Loved Gone Girl


The lovely Jessica reviews Gillian Flynn’s bestselling novel (and soon to be a movie!) Gone Girl:

From the get-go it’s pretty clear that Nick and Amy Dunne do not have a happy marriage, in spite of the fact that it’s their fifth wedding anniversary. Perhaps, especially because it’s their fifth wedding anniversary. Gone Girl opens on the day of the Dunne’s wedding anniversary. Nick goes to work at the bar he owns, has a beer with his twin sister, and receives a phone call from a nosy neighbor saying the front door of the Dunne’s home is open, and the cat is sitting on the porch. It seems, that after Nick left the house earlier that morning, his beautiful and clever wife has gone missing. The scene in their McMansion points towards a struggle. A dress waits on the ironing board, iron still on, a kettle is left boiling, the living room furniture is overturned, and blood is found all over the kitchen floor. Amy is simply gone, and Nick becomes the prime suspect and her disappearance—and her suspected murder. Split into two sections, Gone Girl is reminiscent of a modern day Hitchcock thriller. Chapters alternate between Amy’s diary entries and Nick’s point of view (is he a reliable narrator? What is he hiding? What is he hiding from us?) Through both narratives we gather evidence like the police, one piece at a time, until you’re certain you’ve figured it out. But what if we don’t have all of the evidence? What if the evidence doesn’t actually tell the entire story? The only thing you can be sure of is that you can’t be sure of anything. – Jessica

If you’re like Jessica and LOVED Gone Girl here are some books you need to read next…

1. Under Your Skin by Sabine Durrant A woman’s perfect life begins to unravel when she finds herself mysteriously connected to a murder victim. This week’s 50 Book Pledge pick!

2. The Girl with a Clock for a Heart by Peter Swanson A non-stop thriller about a man swept into a vortex of irresistible passion and murder when an old love mysteriously reappears, and desperately needs his help. 3. After I’m Goneby Laura Lippman Laura Lippman weaves a smart and gripping mystery about a shady con-man who disappears, leaving behind five women: his wife, three daughters, and mistress. Where did he go? How will these women recover? And what happens when five suddenly becomes four when a body is found?

4. Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight A mother receives a mysterious text shorty after her daughter commits suicide, saying simply, “She didn’t jump”. From here, she must unravel the mystery of her daughter’s life, and death. 5. Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson Every morning Christine wakes up and has no idea who she is, or who is sleeping beside her. Left with amnesia after an accident, Christine must piece together her life, and learn who she can trust…This thriller is being made into a movie starring Nicole Kidman! Loved Gone Girl? Be sure to check out these 5 recommendations! Or, let us know if there’s anything else you recommend for fellow Gone Girl fans. Happy Reading!

2015 Update: Find FIVE more reading recommendations for fans of Gone Girl here!

Advertisements

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

3 thoughts on “5 Books to Read If You Loved Gone Girl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s