HCC Frenzy’s Winter ’14 Watch List

This is going to be a big year for YA fiction! We have a lot of great debut novels coming our way, plus some of our fave series will be ending (sigh). Here are some books to look forward to this winter!

1. No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale (Available Now)

For fans of Fargo, Drop Dead Gorgeous and Pretty Little Liars (an awesome combo, if you ask us), this is a darkly humorous murder mystery that you won’t be able to put down, you betcha! Kathleen Hale creates an intricately plotted murder mystery that will keep readers guessing, laughing, and cringing until the surprising final pages. No One Else Can Have You also has a great cover that we’ve challenged readers to recreate!

2. Avalon by Mindee Arnett (January 21, 2014)

Obsessed with Joss Whedon’s cult hit, Firefly? Then you’re definitely going to want to read this book. Avalon follows a rag-tag group of teen mercenaries who crew a spaceship and stumble upon a conspiracy that threatens the entire galaxy.

3. Her Dark CuriositybyMegan Shepherd (January 28, 2014)

In this sequel to The Madman’s Daughter, Juliet must confront what happened to her on the island and escape her haunting past. With inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this is a tantalizing mystery about the hidden natures of those we love and how far we’ll go to save them from themselves.

4.Cruel Beautyby Rosamund Hodge(January 28, 2014)

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about one girl’s journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart. Watch the trailer here.

5.Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (February 4, 2014)

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

6. Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor (February 18, 2014)

 

In the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend’s life-threatening illness.

 

 

7. Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens (February 25, 2014)

 

An edgy debut novel about a 16-year-old girl struggling to forget what happened to her last summer and the awkward boy next door with his own family secrets who helps her. Watch Courtney talk about Faking Normal here.

 

 

 

8. Panic by Lauren Oliver (March 4, 2014)

A group of teens enter a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. From the bestselling author of the Delirium trilogy, this gritty, spellbinding novel captures both the raw energy of fear mixed with excitement, as well as the aching need to find a place to belong. Click here for a sneak peak at Panic!

9. Tape by Steven Camden (March 18,2014)

 

Record a voice and it lasts forever…

In 1993, Ryan records a diary on an old tape. He talks about his mother’s death, about his dreams, about his love for a new girl at school who doesn’t even know he exists. In 2013, Ameliah moves in with her grandmother after her parents die and finds a tape with a boy’s voice – a voice she can’t quite hear, but which seems to be speaking to her. Ryan and Ameliah are connected by more than just a tape. This is their story.

10. Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy (March 18, 2014)

 

John Green meets Sarah Dessen in this lyrical novel about a girl with cancer who creates a take-no-prisoners bucket list that sets off a war at school—only to discover she’s gone into remission.

11. Elusion by Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klan (March 18, 2014)

 

Three teens, one giant commercial virtual reality program, and a long list of dangerous secrets add up to a thrilling futuristic fantasy with an Inception-inspired twist. This is the mind-blowing beginning of a futuristic series about the seductive nature of a perfect virtual world, and how far one will go to uncover the truth behind the illusions.

12. Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts (March 25, 2014)

 

Told in alternating perspectives, Zac and Mia tracks the relationship of two ordinary teenagers in exceptional circumstances. They’re both in remission, but cancer has changed everything, and normal isn’t normal anymore. This is a funny and tender novel about hope, love, and courage.

Add these to your 50 Book Pledge shelf and visit us at hccfrenzy.ca for more info on upcoming teen books!

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Posted by

Digital Marketing Coordinator at HarperCollins Canada. Film, fiction and fashion blog enthusiast. Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt.

One thought on “HCC Frenzy’s Winter ’14 Watch List

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s