Gifts For Fans of John Green

One of the (many) great things about John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars is that it encouraged not-so-savvy readers to pick up and fall in love with a really great book. This, to us, is an important job of writers, and one that John Green does impeccably well with his compelling novels and engaging podcasts.  If you know a reluctant reader (or an I’ll read-the-book-before-the movie reader, or a one-book-per-year reader) who loved The Fault in Our Stars, here is a list of books that they’ll be sure to love, too.

1. The Beginning of Everything by Robin Schneider

{7D52C7B4-82C3-4722-9A01-EF845611FEFD}Img400

Robyn Schneider’s debut novel is the perfect gift for fans of Looking For Alaska and Paper Towns. It’s a smart contemporary novel that takes the reader through one shocking year in the life of a California Prom King as his charmed existence spectacularly collides with multiple tragedies. Robyn’s writing is full of the same smart humor and wit that readers are used to seeing in John Green’s works. If you’re a fan of the VlogBrothers you should definitely check out Robyn’s own YouTube channel for lots of laughs and nerdy-delights.

2. How To Love by Katie Cotugno

9780062216359

In this breathtaking debut, Katie Cotugno weaves together the story of one couple falling in love—twice. How To Love is a roller coaster ride of emotions, describing all euphoric highs and lows of falling in love for the first time.

3. Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith

WildAwake_c (2)

Wild Awake is a stunningly-written contemporary teen novel in which sex, drugs, battle of the bands, first love, mental illness, and murder all converge in a story of summer and self-discovery. It has all the elements fans of John Green love: it’s funny, edgy, and full of romance, an unraveling mystery, and beautifully-articulated truths about the experience of being a teen.

4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

Nerdfighters will truly appreciate Fangirl, a coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. John Green fans all know the fandom way of life; this book is basically made for them.

5. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

EleanorPark_cover2

We’ll let John’s praise speak for itself: “Eleanor & Park reminded me not just what it’s like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it’s like to be young and in love with a book.”

6. The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

9780062235657

A snappy, irresistible romantic comedy that proves stereotypes can be broken and first impressions aren’t fatal. Caymen isn’t your average teenage protagonist; she is sassy and sarcastic and quick with a comeback. Like Hazel and Alaska, she doesn’t play the damsel in distress.

7The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski

9780062238528

A heartrending and funny novel about eighteen-year old Jack Polovsky who steals his newborn son, Socrates, from his ex-girlfriend and goes on a road trip with his best friends. Jack’s not crazy, just young and confused, and all he wants to do spend some time with the son he’s about to lose.  Like any good road trip, they meet oddballs, narrowly escape the police (often), and banter about life, love, and growing up.

8. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

9781443401906

Why We Broke Up is a smart and moving portrait of first love, first heartbreak and all the firsts in between. It’s an ode to falling in love and to learning to stand on your own. Min’s sharp and devastatingly honest voice is one of the most memorable in contemporary young adult literature and is a character that fans of Alaska Young will love.

Happy holidays!

Suman
Follow me on twitter @suman_says & @HCCFrenzy

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s