Bookmarks: October 4th

Happy October, Savvy Readers! This is the month of candy and pumpkin flavoured goodness, in my humble opinion. But there are many other things to look forward to this month:

1. HOCKEY!

The hockey season has begun, but the wait in between games can feel like an eternity. To help the time pass, we recommend J.R. by Jeremy Roenick. 20 years of knowledge makes this memoir an insightful look into the hockey business both on and off the ice. Any Bruins fans? Whether it’s the team you love or love to hate, there is no forgetting Derek Sanderson. Crossing the Line is a tell all about Sanderson’s time with the Bruins, being an alcoholic and an addict, and losing everything. Then there’s the classic: The Game by Ken Dryden is an instant favourite, and there is a 30th Anniversary Edition coming out! It features a whole new chapter from the author.

If you’re a big fan and these titles are old news, here are some new titles to look forward to:

Gordie Howe’s Son by Mark Howe, coming out on October 15th.
Fighting Back by Chris Nilan, coming out on October 29th.
Why I Love Hockey, a celebration of hockey in children’s own words, coming out October 29th.
Anchorboy
by Jay Onrait, coming out on November 5th.

2. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion is our October Book Club pick! What do you get when you mix a socially awkward genetics professor with a fiery barmaid who can’t always control her temper? Well, you’ll just have to read and find out. Watch the book trailer here and check-in next week for more details. This feel-good romance will warm you up and sweeten your soul! Speaking of sweets, pinterest is feeding our addiction for food pics. These are great for book club meets 😉 (but don’t forget to send us pictures @savvyreader)

3.
Jessica Scott’s post on Literary Heroines is so on point, especially with Room by Emma Donoghue. Ma isn’t always strong, but she never gives up. In Room, we are lucky to experience her character through the eyes of her young son. Her resiliance and testimony to the human will is inspiring and heartbreaking all at once.

4. Speaking of awesome mothers… Katie Cotugno’s How to Love just came out this week. It’s the story of Reena Montero who, against all odds, survives a broken heart and a teenage pregnancy. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Rainbow Rowell need to read this stunning debut. Read with a box of tissues and a box of chocolate! Watch the book trailer here.

5. Remember how excited you were when you heard Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by JK Rowling is being made into a film? Well Warner Bros. has reportedly trademarked Quidditch Through the Ages! Could this mean another film in the future? E’s article does a great job breaking down the rumours and sources. For especially savvy readers, I’m sure you’re already thinking of teams to cheer on! As for me? I’m rooting for the Chudley Cannons!

Fans of magic should stave off the inevitable impatience pangs by reading The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. Magic school? Check. Nefarious villains? Check. Legendary fairytale characters? Double check!

As always, TGIF, Savvy Readers!
Nitasha

FF!  @notquiteanitwit and @savvyreader

Advertisements

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s