HCC Frenzy Presents: A Recap

This past Thursday we invited a group of GTA-based bloggers to FRENZY PRESENTS, an evening where we talked about what’s new in YA and teen books.

The event took place at vocado boutique in Liberty Village, where we set up treats and goodie bags for our blogger friends, and had a very special guest join us for the night: Cora Carmack!

We wanted the night to be super-fun and conversational so everyone could chat about upcoming titles and the future of YA, so we set up five stations throughout the gorgeous boutique:


NEW VOICES

I got to chat about some of my favourite books out this fall from new authors:

If You Could Be Mine is a love story between two young Iranian girls—one of whom decides to undergo a sex change surgery so they can be together. This is a stunning book about a rare topic in YA and we just can’t wait for everyone to read it! Next, Not a Drop to Drink is a survival story that already has a lot of buzz surrounding it. The main protagonist is a young girl named Lynn, who is one of the most interesting female leads I’ve read in a while. Finally, set in New York during 1963 (!!!), Gloss follows four very different girls who land an internship at their favourite fashion magazine. This book is fun, exciting, and one that we cannot stop talking about!


CONTEMPORARY FICTION

Kaitlyn talked about the reemerging trend of contemporary fiction in YA, focusing on The Beginning of Everything, a funny, smart novel about a former California Prom King whose charmed life changes after multiple tragedies, and How to Love, a breathtaking debut following one couple who falls in love—twice. Both books are great coming-of-age stories, perfect for fans of John Green! We look forward to seeing what authors Robyn Schneider and Katie Cotugno have in store for us next!

NEW MYTHOLOGY


Some of our favourite books here at Frenzy are those that are rooted in mythology, so we couldn’t wait to share these two upcoming books with everyone:

The Chaos of Stars follows Isadora, the daughter of the Egyptian gods Isis and Osiris, who just wants to live a normal life. We love Isadora because she’s a funny, relatable protagonist, plus we adore the book’s absolutely gorgeous cover! Next, Descendant is the much-anticipated sequel to Lesley Livingston’s Norse-mythology filled book, Starling! There is so much excitement surrounding this one that we could see the glee in everyone’s eyes when Shannon was describing it!


CREEPTASTIC

Asylum is a creepy photo-novel perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. The photos included are chilling and the plot is full of suspense and tension. Next on the creeptastic list, The Brokenhearted is a fresh take on the superhero story that follows Anthem Fleet, a talented ballerina who falls to her death only to wake up with a bionic heart ticking in her chest. This is an incredibly gripping, fast-paced read that we strongly recommend! Finally, Jess talked about 3:59, a deliciously eerie story about the lives we wish we had. It follows Josie and Jo, two doppelgängers living in parallel universes that briefly overlap every twelve hours at exactly 3:59.

NEW ADULT

Our surprise guest, bestselling-author Cora Carmack, talked about the very exciting New Adult genre and her newest book, Faking It. She also signed copies of her first novel, Losing It and took pictures with some very happy fans!!

We had the best time talking YA with this great group of bloggers! Thank you once again to everyone who joined us and to the amazing ladies at vocado boutique for helping us host such a fun event!

For those who couldn’t make it to FRENZY PRESENTS, you can still chat with us about your fave books @HCCFrenzy and on our new Tumblr blog, coming soon!

Suman
Follow me on twitter @HCCFrenzy and @suman_says

Advertisements

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s