If You Liked Perks of Being a Wallflower…

The Perks of Being a Wallflower was released on DVD yesterday. In celebration of this classic YA novel turned film- a celebration of friends, misfits, and the high school experience- we’ve compiled a list of  must-reads that capture the spirit of Perks:

Savvy but fallible Bird from 40 Things I Want to Tell You by Alice Kuipers would totally be BFFs with Sam.

Period 8 by Chris Crutcher is a gripping account of the darker side of high school that will remind you of some of the more brutal scenes in Perks.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler, because a Bitter Sixteen party is totally something Patrick would approve of.

The First Stone by Don Aker is an award-winning Canadian book with lots of hurt, anger, and healing- just like Perks.

If you like Sam, you’ll love Ava from Pink by Lili Wilkinson,who finds that no matter how many times you reinvent yourself, you can never change the real you.

Another Kind of Cowboy, the Canadian heartbreaker by Susan Juby, takes a look at unlikely friendships and the difficulty of being gay in high school.

Pink Smog by Francesca Lia Block. Before Weetzie Bat became the free-spirited LA sprite we all know and love, she was simply Louise who, like Charlie, was trying to carve a place for herself in the world.

In The Miseducation of Cameron Post, emily m. danforth eloquently captures the raw realities of high school, especially when it comes to unrequited love – something Charlie knows a thing or two about.

Despite a pretty raw deal and some heavy emotional baggage (like Charlie) Amber is a hope-spreader and her attitude and friendships help her pull through Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick.

And, of course, Paper Towns; a classic John Green novel about a troubled girl and the boys who love her.

Do you love Perks of Being a Wallflower and if so, which books measured up to Steven Chbosky’s contemporary classic? Tell us on twitter @SavvyReader.

Happy reading, fellow Wallflowers!

Vikki
Follow me on twitter @vikkivansickle!

Advertisements

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s