100 Words on… Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace

Danny Wallace is hilarious. His non-fiction book Yes Man had me in hysterics, and I couldn’t wait to pick up his latest, Charlotte Street. Charlotte Street is a novel about a man named Jason Priestley who is kind of at a low point in his life. He has a brief meeting with a girl, is instantly drawn to her, and then she’s gone, leaving behind a disposable camera. For the rest of the book Jason tries to find this mystery girl, using the photographs as clues.

The tagline is, “A heartwarming everyday tale of boy stalks girl…”

Hilarious, right? I was constantly smiling while reading this book. Wallace has created a cast of funny, lovable characters, and you can’t help but root for this down-and-out stalker to find the girl of his dreams. (That’s not a sentence I ever pictured writing!) It’s funny, it’s light, it’s a perfect beach read. At the heart of the story it’s also about a man who is not only searching for the girl of his dreams, he’s also searching for himself.

I recommend it for fans of Douglas Coupland, Jess Walter, or anyone who likes Brit humour.

This book will make you feel a bit more optimistic, will certainly charm you, and will make you smile. Isn’t that exactly what you want a book to do sometimes?

Shannon
Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader

Check out Charlotte Street today.

Follow @DannyWallace on twitter.

Charlotte Street is also featured this week on Summer Passport!

Watch Danny Wallace talk about Charlotte Street.

Posted by

Canadian publishing professionals and bloggers. Looking for savvy readers to talk books with us!

Leave a Reply