Holiday Gift List: for Savvy Readers

Last week, we introduced our 2013 Holiday Gift Guides with a fun reminder that no matter the person, there’s a book for them! Now, we’re kicking off a series of gift lists with the people we know best: The Savvy Readers. How do you identify a Savvy Reader? Well, you don’t have to look to far… they’ll typically have a book with them almost everywhere they go! Below, we have a collection of books, accessories and crafts to share with the Savvy Readers in your life.


1. The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan

9781443410229

The Valley of Amazement is a tale of two women connected by fate, each searching for their own identity. This book is the perfect present for those who like to get lost in a story (just like Shannon did!).

2. The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson

9781443419109

This is the charming story of 100-year-old Allan Karlsson who sneaks out the window of his nursing home for one final adventure. Ideal for anyone who has ever uttered the words “I’m too old for this!”

3. We Are Water by Wally Lamb

9780061941023

An intricate story about family, divorce and the complications that come with it, We Are Water is a great gift for readers that love layered, complicated and flawed characters.

4. The Son by Phillipp Meyer

9780062120403

An epic saga set in the American West; it’s perfect for readers who love sprawling, multi-generational novels about blood, power and the ruthlessness needed to build an empire of privilege and wealth.

5. Library Scarf from Kate Spade

download

For the reader who likes to wear her bookish heart on her sleeve, Kate Spade has a collection of reading-inspired accessories including scarves, phone cases, jewelry and more! See the collection.

6. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

15819028

Clever, inventive and unlike any other story out there, Helene Wecker offers a brilliant tale that intertwines fables with Middle Eastern and Yiddish literature to create a moving story of two unlikely friends. Ideal for lovers of fantasy, fairy tales, and improbable friendships.

7. The First Phone Call from Heaven by Mitch Albom

9780062294371

When the residents of Coldwater, Michigan begin receiving strange calls from heaven, questions arise: is it real miracle or a cruel joke? The First Phone Call from Heaven is a story about faith, love and the desire to believe. Best for the spiritual or anyone filled with the Christmas spirit.

8. A Set of Bookends

fac3b72cbcc537c4ff8d5a9dc01315b6

It’s no surprise that we love a great set of bookends, and think it’s a great gift for that one friend who has already read everything! You could go for a classic A-Z pair or get more creative and make your own (inspiration here!).

9. Christmas at Claridge’s by Karen Swan

karen-swan-untitled-book-5-978144721969901

London “it” girl Clem Alderton has it all, but one wild night she manages to put at risk everything she’s worked so hard to gain. Glamorous, chic and stylish, this book is a great gift for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Emily Giffin and Cecelia Ahern.

10. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

9781443422666

You’ve heard us talk about this one a lot! This kooky comedy about a handsome yet socially awkward genetics professor who puts together a questionnaire to help him find the ideal wife has something for every reader.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s